Go Back   AC3D Forums > Meeting places > AC3D and X-Plane
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18th March 2011, 07:56 AM   #1
Michael Wilson
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Default help please!

the overhead looks fine when viewed in ac3d but when i export it to xplane object 8 the textures and wording is all muddled! ...why?...i dont want to loose all this work.
......see how the wording is all over the place in the sim..but its fine when viewed in ac3d.

http://www.x-plane.org/home/michael_...creens0161.jpg

http://www.x-plane.org/home/michael_...creens0160.jpg

im using ac3d 6.7 and the plug ins i got here:
http://wiki.x-plane.com/Scenery_Tools

here is the ac3d file and texture, just in case its of any use im sending both files before saving in ac3d 6.7 with newer plug in, and after as well, but they both have the same problem:

http://forjets.netfirms.com/overhead.zip

Last edited by Michael Wilson; 18th March 2011 at 09:37 AM.
Michael Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2011, 12:25 PM   #2
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: help please!

Not sure, do your textures need to be square powers of two?

eg 1024 x 1024 instead of 1404 x 1195
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2011, 02:08 PM   #3
Michael Wilson
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Default Re: help please!

[edit]
i thought it was working but, now its not working, i expanded the png to 2048x2048 and now its not showing any texture in the sim at all.

Last edited by Michael Wilson; 18th March 2011 at 04:57 PM.
Michael Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2011, 04:47 PM   #4
Michael Wilson
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Default Re: help please!

i think it may be working now, 2048x2048 is not allowed in the objects folder right? it seems 1024x1024 may be working.

Last edited by Michael Wilson; 18th March 2011 at 05:16 PM.
Michael Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2011, 11:43 AM   #5
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 162
Default Re: help please!

Michael,
2048x2048 is allowed (even 4096x4096 does work).
The max. texture size depends on your display card. If you open 'log.txt' in your x-plane folder and search for 'max texture size' it will tell you the maximum suported size in pixels.
Mine says 'max texture size : 8192'.

I changed the canvas size of your example to 2048px x 2048px and scaled the UV maps accordingly and everything seems to work nicely. If you like I can email it to you.

cheers
Peter
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2011, 09:28 AM   #6
Michael Wilson
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 49
Default Re: help please!

thanks peter
yes please mail it to me.

also thanks to lisa, i think she got me on the right track.
Michael Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) Inivis Limited 2014