Go Back   AC3D Forums > Meeting places > AC3D and X-Plane
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16th July 2011, 12:45 PM   #1
wheathe
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Default X-Plane obj files crash AC3D

I find that some obj files that are large crash my 6.8 & 6.7 versions of AC3D. Both seem to react the same.

Some obj files seem to load, but then AC3D freezes when I move the mouse.

Question, what is the relationship between obj file sizes and the amount of system ram, and also the obj file size vs the video card memory.

I am running a PC with XP Pro SP3.

CPU #1 Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550

CPU Name Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83GHz

Video Card: Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT

Memory 1024 MBytes Type GDDR3

Thanks in advance,

William
wheathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2011, 02:01 PM   #2
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 162
Default Re: X-Plane obj files crash AC3D

You are probably running out of RAM.
I never used AC3D with less than 4 GB and this is what I would recommend as minimum for X-Plane as well.

peter
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2011, 04:14 PM   #3
wheathe
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Default Re: X-Plane obj files crash AC3D

Quote:
Originally Posted by captainpeter View Post
You are probably running out of RAM.
I never used AC3D with less than 4 GB and this is what I would recommend as minimum for X-Plane as well.

peter
I have the maximum 4 GB ram installed which unfortunately translates to about 3 GB max available with my 32 bit machine.

I plan to upgrade to a new machine this fall which will be 64 bit allowing more memory to be installed. My present machine handles up to 5,000 Kb sized obj files. Some of the files I need to load are 12,000+Kb.

So what amount of ram & video memory should I consider for a 12,000 Kb obj file with a png file 3,000 Kb size?

Thanks for the help.

William
wheathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2011, 05:20 PM   #4
Tonka
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 42
Default Re: X-Plane obj files crash AC3D

What are your page file settings, and what sort of memory usage does ac3d need when you load these big objects? You can see this in task manager.
Tonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2011, 06:01 AM   #5
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 162
Default Re: X-Plane obj files crash AC3D

Oh, I misread your system specs.
I was thinking '1024 MBytes Type GDDR3' is your RAM :roll:

Considering that:
  • I'm using a Macbook Pro ( 8GB RAM and a 512MB nVidia GT300M )
  • I just opened a 26 MB ac3d file.
  • Total objects: 1150 surfaces: 238635 vertices: 200745
  • It uses 9 texture png's which use around 40 MB VRAM (uncompressed)
  • I used to work on this model on my old Macbook Pro (core2duo 2.4GHz) with 4GB/256VRAM without any issues as well.

...your model is certainly not even close to ac3d's limitations on your hardware.

At least on Mac AC3D will only address 4GB anyway (32bit app).
8GB do help to get the OS and other apps out of the way though

Have you tried updating graphics drivers?
Reducing some rendering options (anti-aliasing, et al)?

Maybe someone with better WinXP skills knows more.
peter
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2011, 05:34 PM   #6
wheathe
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Default Re: X-Plane obj files crash AC3D

Quote:
Originally Posted by captainpeter View Post
Oh, I misread your system specs.
I was thinking '1024 MBytes Type GDDR3' is your RAM :roll:

Considering that:
  • I'm using a Macbook Pro ( 8GB RAM and a 512MB nVidia GT300M )
  • I just opened a 26 MB ac3d file.
  • Total objects: 1150 surfaces: 238635 vertices: 200745
  • It uses 9 texture png's which use around 40 MB VRAM (uncompressed)
  • I used to work on this model on my old Macbook Pro (core2duo 2.4GHz) with 4GB/256VRAM without any issues as well.

...your model is certainly not even close to ac3d's limitations on your hardware.

At least on Mac AC3D will only address 4GB anyway (32bit app).
8GB do help to get the OS and other apps out of the way though

Have you tried updating graphics drivers?
Reducing some rendering options (anti-aliasing, et al)?

Maybe someone with better WinXP skills knows more.
peter
I did some testing today, and determined that I can build a bigger collection of objects than I can import. The obj file size ended up being 14,267 Kb with the following data as determined by AC3D.

Total objects: 1291 surfaces: 166100 vertices: 86400

Attached is a pic of the system information with the above objects loaded into AC3D.

I am guessing that either the obj files that that crash AC3D have something odd in them, or something weird is going on in my computer.

I haven't updated my graphic drivers as they are fairly recent.
Driver Version 6.14.12.6658
Driver Date 2011-01-08 03:27:00

My Video card is a NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT which by today's standards is ancient and should be replaced which will happen this fall.

I will look at anti-aliasing etc. as my next move.

Thanks again for the interest.

William
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot - 7_17_2011 , 12_07_48 PM.png
Views:	107
Size:	82.8 KB
ID:	2327  

wheathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2012, 05:05 PM   #7
wheathe
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Default Re: X-Plane obj files crash AC3D

...your model is certainly not even close to ac3d's limitations on your hardware.

At least on Mac AC3D will only address 4GB anyway (32bit app).
8GB do help to get the OS and other apps out of the way though

Have you tried updating graphics drivers?
Reducing some rendering options (anti-aliasing, et al)?

Maybe someone with better WinXP skills knows more.
peter[/QUOTE]

I think I discovered what I was doing wrong. I was getting the texture and the obj files cross filed. (Newby mistake)

Thanks again for the interest.

wheathe
wheathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2012, 01:39 PM   #8
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 162
Default Re: X-Plane obj files crash AC3D

I really hope it didn't take you the entire year to find out.

cheers
__________________
--
P e t e r M e i n i n g e r
------------------------------------

The X-Plane Freeware Project
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2012, 08:46 AM   #9
wheathe
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Default Re: X-Plane obj files crash AC3D

Yes it took me a year.

Old age and health issues are my excuses and I'm sticking to them.

Way back in my distant past I worked with 2D & 3D CAD at a $5000.00 per seat CAD station.

Complex machines were always created using layers for each sub assembly and part.

Having the ability to put different part attributes in a separate layer was strictly enforced as each part was added to a sub-assembly and then the design checked for interference, fit,and function.

Comparing working with layers to working with the hierarchy method in AC3D, the layers method wins hands down for speed and ease of use. IMHO.

I admit it is not an issue on assemblies with only a few parts or objects, but when you build an aircraft with many parts and add in animation, finding your way around becomes a time wasting issue. IMHO.

I would like to see more opinions on this subject.

Finally AC3D makes most other CAD software look and feel second rate.

Amazing! Many many thanks Andy!

PS
Parametric design was becoming popular about the time I retired. It made altering a design a snap. Possible in AC3D?

wheathe
wheathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2012, 10:22 AM   #10
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 162
Default Re: X-Plane obj files crash AC3D

My only gripe with AC3D's layering logic is the following:

If I group multiple objects (e.g. geometry intended to move as if it were one solid part) everything is fine. I can select the group in group mode and the objects inside individually in object mode.

This logic breaks however if I group multiple groups containing objects.
It is no longer possible to select groups within groups in group select mode.

Clicking such a sub-group will select all objects within but NOT the group.
I also can not move multiple selected objects and groups within the hierarchy together but have to drag them around individually.

peter
__________________
--
P e t e r M e i n i n g e r
------------------------------------

The X-Plane Freeware Project
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) Inivis Limited 2014