Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 1st September 2010, 06:49 PM   #1
David Ray

Question Recentering Camera when building

Hello all... I am an SL builder and now using AC3D for a couple weeks... I am having a blast but there are a couple of things that I am not seeing how to do.
1) move the camera focus (center) on the object I am building so I can ratchet into details etc.
2) Can polygon model be successfully exported to SL? I see threads saying that if UV mapping is applied it might work... and I understand the SL model cannot have any holes, but I (as of yet) have found a definitive answer as to whether this can be done
3) I tried the triangle importer for objects into sl which was cool except the prim count was wayyyy out there.. I am hoping (a long shot I know) that there is away of bringing the triangles into sl and then making them a single prim... is that possible?

Thanks
David Ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 08:39 PM   #2
Stiglr
Professional user

Default Re: Recentering Camera when building

I don't think this is about your camera. Depending on how close you need to get, one of the keys to this is getting your field of view (FOV) set so that you can get in real tight in the 3D window.

In your File > Settings... > 3D View tab, set the Default FOV very low (>5) and that will allow you to zoom and spin in close. At some point, however, some objects will begin to "disappear" as you get into close view. In those cases, start "hiding" other larger items, or just hide everything but the one or two items you're working with.

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2010, 02:16 AM   #3
David Ray