Go Back   AC3D Forums > Meeting places > AC3D and X-Plane
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 16th March 2017, 05:46 AM   #1
lonewulf

Default Not possible to use DDS textures?

Hi fellows,

Unfortunately I'm unable to do a search for "DDS textures" as obviously the keyword "DDS" is too short and so I'm confronted with hundreds of entries regarding "textures" - which makes it virtually impossible to find anything pertinent within reasonable time. So I have decided to set up this question, although I presume that it has been asked already a few times.

I'm brand new to AC3D and just bought the newest release 8.0.80. My idea was to redo a few sceneries for X-Plane that I have done in the past with other 3D modeling software. I wanted to use the same DDS texture sheets that I used at times but just learned that it seems not possible to use DDS textures (with and without Alpha channel) in AC3D. There is no error message when loading but they simply do not show up.

What am I missing? Are there other easy-to-use tools to create Alpha-channel textures (so far I used DXTBMP)?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Oskar
lonewulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2017, 12:13 AM   #2
captainpeter
Professional user

Default Re: Not possible to use DDS textures?

AC3D supports .dds textures.
Are you using MacOS or Windows? Have you tried using lower-case characters for the file extension?

Remember that DDS is a distribution file format and often uses data-reduction to achieve small file sizes. I would recommend to use PNG format for texturing and editing in AC3D and only replace with DDS right before you export to X-Plane.

There's a tool to create x-plane optimized DDS files available here.

cheers
peter

Quote:
Originally Posted by lonewulf View Post
Hi fellows,