Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 15th February 2011, 09:22 PM   #1
AllenAnway

Default Make a hole in a surface

I am a beginner. I want to take a surface of revolution and punch a hole in it, as with a cylinder punch. Thanks in advance for your help.
Old 24th February 2011, 09:08 PM   #2
Terry Capps
Professional user

Question Re: Make a hole in a surface

I have attached a two-image sequence of a hole "punched" in a surface of revolution. Is this what you have in mind?
Attached Images

Terry Capps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2011, 01:11 PM   #3
AllenAnway

Default Re: Make a hole in a surface

Many thanks for your efforts to help. What I wanted was to puncture the surface of revolution by the cylinder to be able to see into the interior of the surface. Is this possible to do? I am modeling an electrical housing Red Dot GALB-2 and it has two threaded bushings into which 3/4" pipe threaded pipe nipples are screwed in. Thanks again for your interest --- A2D2
Old 1st March 2011, 09:22 AM   #4
Terry Capps
Professional user

I think that the "Surface Hide/Unhide feature might do what you want. I have attached two more images to illustrate this. The first is an object with a surface of revolution. A bolt has been inserted through the first object. The top surface of the object has been selected. I then used the Surface Hide/Unhide feature to hide the selected surfaces to produce the second image. Now the inside surfaces of the object can be seen by using the 3D window.
Attached Images

Old 1st March 2011, 12:20 PM   #5
Terry Capps
Professional user

P.S. Use the "surface hiding" script function, not the Visibility-Hide function.
Old 2nd March 2011, 09:56 AM   #6
AllenAnway