Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Tutorials and How-To's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27th September 2008, 02:41 PM   #1
3Dator
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Texture of Objects

Hello
I want to know how I can create different textures for all 6 sides of a cube.
That mens for each side one picture.
And how can I create textures for a sphere or cylinder?
Thanks
3Dator
3Dator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2008, 03:42 PM   #2
petero1
Junior Member
Junior member
 
petero1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Texture of Objects

Did you try to select faces as seperate objects? Im just have a try to do that.
Peter
petero1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2008, 08:15 AM   #3
3Dator
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Texture of Objects

How?
3Dator
3Dator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2008, 11:40 AM   #4
petero1
Junior Member
Junior member
 
petero1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Texture of Objects

Create a cube normally,choose explode in objects menu.
Let the 1.0 in the requester "Detonate"
now select each side and give them step by step a texture (exactly 6)
Then choose explode again but change the 1.0 to -1.0 and the cube is united with a texture each side.



This is an example only.
Peter
PS for the cylinder ill maka a next step.
petero1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2008, 02:01 PM   #5
3Dator
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Texture of Objects

Very Thanks.
Another question: How I can find out how many pixel my cube is? My Program (Ulead PhotoImpact) only can work with pixel.
3Dator
3Dator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2008, 02:22 PM   #6
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Texture of Objects

Texture maps can be any number of pixels you want, there is no set size. However, square power-of-two (1x1, 2x2, 4x4, 8x8.... 256x256, 512x512, etc.) maps usually render quickest, or may be required if you are planning to use your model in a game.

The general rule-of-thumb is to choose your texture size based on how big the object will be in your final render. So, if the final picture you want to render is 1024x768 and your cube takes up about a quarter of the screen, you'll want to use a 512-pixel map. If the cube takes up the whole screen, you'll want a 1024-pixel map, and so on. The idea is to pick a texture size large enough that it won't stretch or blur in your final image, without making it any larger than it needs to be and slowing down the render.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2008, 03:06 PM   #7
petero1
Junior Member
Junior member
 
petero1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Texture of Objects

Hay 3Dator and Lisa,
I mostly make meshes for "Rule the Rail" with AC3D and TS7. The functions are the same. Knownly i export these meshes as x-data. RTR requires a dds-pic 2x2 as the smallest unit and goes up to 1024 x 512 for a goot performance.
...and if an AC3D user follow the statusbar x-y-z translation then this user has the measures of this cube. Normaly the texture has to be a square multiple with 2.
This is my experience i collected.
Peter
PS:the avatar is a shot of an Intercity 125 modeled for RTR ;-)
petero1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2008, 04:41 PM   #8
Edymnion
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Edymnion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 203
Default Re: Texture of Objects

Quote:
Originally Posted by petero1 View Post
Create a cube normally,choose explode in objects menu.
Let the 1.0 in the requester "Detonate"
now select each side and give them step by step a texture (exactly 6)
Then choose explode again but change the 1.0 to -1.0 and the cube is united with a texture each side.
There's an easier way to do this.
Click on the object, and assign the texture to the entire object. It'll wrap around and look wrong, but thats okay.

Click the "Select Surface" button, and then select only one surface of the object. Click on the texture coordinator. Click the view options until you see the surface (so view the top for the top of a cube, front for the front of the cube, etc). Move/resize the surface, and click okay.

No exploding the model, and it will remember the texture coordinates later on.
__________________
It is by caffeine alone that I set my mind in motion. It is by the syrup of cola that thoughts acquire speed, the ears acquire ringing, the ringing becomes a warning. It is by caffeine alone that I set my mind into motion.
Edymnion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 09:05 AM   #9
3Dator
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Texture of Objects

wow thanx
3Dator
3Dator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 12:27 PM   #10
Edymnion
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Edymnion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 203
Default Re: Texture of Objects

Don't forget you can select multiple surfaces at the same time this way, like the entire side of the train at once. And even better, since it will remember the coordinates you used, you can make multiple skins and trade out between them with ease. Just make sure everything is in the same place and size as the original, and change the skin file. The coordinates for the texture are saved with the mesh, so you can reskin the entire model very easily by simply loading a new file.
__________________
It is by caffeine alone that I set my mind in motion. It is by the syrup of cola that thoughts acquire speed, the ears acquire ringing, the ringing becomes a warning. It is by caffeine alone that I set my mind into motion.
Edymnion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:44 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020