Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Tutorials and How-To's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 1st April 2007, 04:49 PM   #1
WazmotheWort

Default How to use the poly line tool

Hi,

can anyone explain what the polyline tool can be used for ? Say, If I draw a square
and snap the fourth vertice to the first, how do I make them one vertice to share the same edge so that I can surface it ?

Thanx. Wazmo
WazmotheWort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2007, 03:40 PM   #2
Echo

Default Re: How to use the poly line tool

Hi, I'm really new at using AC3D but I have made a sword using it. I drew 1 edge of the sword, copied it, placed them so that they were almost perpendicular, mirrored them, added a handle and handguard. There tutorial for it is somewhere on these forums.
Here is a link to the tutorial.
http://www.ac3d.org/forum/showthread.php?t=2653 (Nice work and tutorial bill)

I'm not sure but i think it is used for drawing a 2d shape to extrude it into a 3d shape. If I'm wrong, can someone please tell me what it is for as well.

Echo.

Last edited by Echo; 5th April 2007 at 03:44 PM.
Echo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2007, 09:43 AM   #3
Stiglr
Professional user

The Poly Line tool is very simple and straightforward. I'd be very surprised it isn't detailed completely in the User Guide. However, onward....

Hold your cursor over the Poly Line icon, and a small dialog will appear, telling you how to use it and how to "finish" a shape: click the Poly Line icon, then in one of the viewports click at consecutive points which describe the shape you want to draw; after you click to draw the last point, (not ON the last point) click with the center or right mousebutton and that completes the shape. (Even if you do end up with two vertices at the "end" of the shape, you can later select both vertices in Vertice mode, then do a Snap Together, followed by Weld, to be sure that they become one, single vertice)