Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Tutorials and How-To's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 27th October 2006, 10:34 AM   #1
jtdam09

Default Please help me with this whole thing!

I am new to the Graphics designing, and I need a lot of help. I am planning to make a trailer for school, and I have a mentor right now from this Culinary Arts College, but I haven't seen my mentor yet, and I need some help from you guys right now to be ahead when I see him/her. I am making two chinese girls fighting and flying around the stage(Like Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon a little bit), and one character has a black see through veil.

Okay the thing is, I need to know how to make these of the following

-Female heads, hair, and bodies

-Landscape

-Clothes

-The veil for one of them
and
-Details of the characters(Light, Shade, hair movements)
jtdam09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2006, 02:35 PM   #2
Stiglr
Professional user

Default Re: Please help me with this whole thing!

I suggest you get fluent in the terminology of 3D modeling. Learn about what a viewport is, how to navigate, learn what a primitive object is, what a vertice is, what a surface is, what an edge is, what a normal is, what a material is, basic properties of objects and how to manipulate them...

Then learn about the ways to use the features.

So, your #1 job now is to go to the ac3d.org/downloads page and get the User Manual. It's pretty well written, not that initimidating, and fairly complete. Only after you understand the basics of 3D modeling do you have any hope of quickly coming to terms with creating objects as diverse as characters, landscapes and planning for animation/production.

If you're planning to animate these characters, you will need another program to do that: AC3D doesn't handle any animation.

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7