Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Tutorials and How-To's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 5th December 2007, 02:31 AM   #1
jimhorner

Default Newbie question regarding texture mapping

Hello, I'm a newbie to ACAD, and I've got some questions which I'm hoping someone here can answer. I've done some searching of the forum, but I can't find the answer. Probably because I'm so new that I don't even know what to search for.

Some background first. I'm in the process of designing an RC model airplane of a one-off 1930's era racer. As part of the whole process, I like to create a simulation model to see how the design might fly prior to actually building the model. I've used the popular FMS simulator in the past with Metasequoia as the modeling tool. However, I'd also like to experiment with the ClearviewRC simulator which uses ACAD files for modeling. I'm having problems with the texture mapping of the model.

I'll post some pics in the next few posts to explain the problems, but I'll list my questions here.

1. In Metasequoia, I can create a material which has a texture file associated with it as well as specify the specular reflection property of it and then assign the material to a particular surface or surfaces. I see how to specify the light reflecting properties of a material in ACAD, but how do I do it for a texture?

2. In Metasequoia, I can set the editor so that I only select the front or visible faces of a particular view. That way I can easily assign a different material to the front and back of an object. I've modeled the wing and ailerons of my model as independent objects in ACAD. The top surface of the wing should have a different part of the texture file assigned to it than the bottom surface. However, the selection tools seem to select both top and bottom surfaces. Are there any suggestions as to how to filter the selection to only select the view-visible surfaces of the object?