Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Tutorials and How-To's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11th October 2003, 04:43 PM   #1
-WOODY-
Professional user

Default Using Pov-Ray 3.5 with AC3D ( A newbies guide ) updated

This will be a guide on how to use Pov-Ray with AC3D. Since I'm a newb at this, this will be an ever-growing article. If there's anyone else who has experience with using AC3D with Pov-Ray, please feel free to correct me or add your own tips and tricks.

First, get yourself a freeware copy of Pov-Ray http://www.povray.org/download/

Setting up:
The first thing you want to do is create a "header" file. I got this info from the resources page on this site. It says to put this file in "/usr/local/lib/povray31/include" directory, but there isn't a directory like this with Pov-Ray 3.5. Instead, just put it in "C:\Program Files\POV-Ray for Windows v3.5\include" directory.

Create file:
Open up a new word or note pad document and copy and paste this in it exactly as you see it

global_settings { assumed_gamma 2.2}

#include "colors.inc"
#include "textures.inc"
#include "shapes.inc"
#include "metals.inc"
#include "golds.inc"
#include "skies.inc"
#include "stones.inc"
#include "glass.inc"

Now save this file as "header.inc" ( without quotes ) and put it in your include directory.

AC3D settings:
Now open AC3D and go to "file" then "settings". On the settings menu, select the "files" tab. At the top you'll see a list and box that says " POV header". Type this in the box next to it #include "header.inc." ( include quotes ).
Below that you'll see a radio button that says "Use object data for POV files", put a check in that box and you're good to go.
__________________________________________________ _______________