Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Tutorials and How-To's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12th November 2007, 01:54 PM   #1
OleSprky

Default Text generator to Secondlife Sculpty prim

Hi folks, this is my first post on these boards. Hope you folks can help me. I'm new to programs such as this and am wondering how or if there is a way after creating 2D-3D text if there is a way to export it to a Second Life sculpted prim texture map. I have been able to create other prims here and have them work with the exporter but the letters are so far a no go. Any help on this would be appreciated.
OleSprky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2007, 08:37 PM   #2
lisa
Professional user

Default Re: Text generator to Secondlife Sculpty prim

The easiest way to do it would be to wrap each letter individually.

Letters tend to have a lot of hard edges, though. Depending on your font and your prim budget, I might recommend using AC3D's SL triangle exporter instead.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2007, 09:21 PM   #3
OleSprky

Thanks for the reply Lisa.

When I was working on it earlier, I created just one letter to see if it would work. I used the basic Arial font and made a T. The setting I used was extrude to make it a think solid. The thickness of the letter was .5. As far as the wrap goes, I'm still a major noob on this program and have no clue what that means. From beginning to end this is what I did.

Opened the 3D text generator.
Set the font and the letter (I'm trying to make individual letters)
Clicked Create.... the model shows up on the screen.
Went to Export to SL Normalized sculpted prim
Saved it
Went to upload image in Secondlife, selected that sculpt .tga then clicked open.
In the preview texture box before actual upload, my model looks like a giant piece of fools gold.