Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D Work In Progress / Showcase
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22nd December 2009, 02:42 AM   #1
Box5
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NW
Posts: 48
Default Gravedigger

Started a new project, gonna make a full Gravedigger monster truck. I got the basic shell complete today, and made the texture from various real life pics of the truck. Made in ac3d, rendered in 3ds.



Box5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2009, 02:04 PM   #2
donamy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 219
Default Re: Gravedigger

Very Nice start !! Will it be for a particular game ?
donamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2009, 05:05 PM   #3
Box5
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NW
Posts: 48
Default Re: Gravedigger

It's going in Rigs of Rods once I get all the mesh work done.

Got the tire done and textured



Last edited by Box5; 23rd December 2009 at 12:52 AM.
Box5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2009, 02:20 AM   #4
Box5
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NW
Posts: 48
Default Re: Gravedigger

Got basically everything meshed except a engine and fuel tank. It's working in game nicely.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_345.jpg
Views:	400
Size:	239.4 KB
ID:	1833  

Box5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2009, 11:23 AM   #5
tbd
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 883
Default Re: Gravedigger

Its looking beautiful. Got any wires
tbd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2009, 01:46 PM   #6
donamy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 219
Default Re: Gravedigger

Yes, a tire wire. LOL
donamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 08:49 PM   #7
Box5
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NW
Posts: 48
Default Re: Gravedigger

Here's it in action

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YVE3hB_tpfA

And the tires are high poly compared to how I usually model, but it had to be done to get the tread detail, lol. The rest is pretty low poly so that makes up for it in game.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_2.jpg
Views:	395
Size:	217.5 KB
ID:	1855  

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_6.jpg
Views:	288
Size:	336.1 KB
ID:	1856  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DakotaSide2.JPG
Views:	260
Size:	353.4 KB
ID:	1857  


Last edited by Box5; 13th January 2010 at 08:53 PM.
Box5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2010, 09:26 PM   #8
donamy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 219
Default Re: Gravedigger

Really nice !! May I make a suggestion, that you add a inner shell painted solid so you don't see the graphics on the inside ?
donamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2010, 08:03 PM   #9
Box5
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NW
Posts: 48
Default Re: Gravedigger

yea, the game itself should backface it black, but I think I have my material file setup wrong. I'm gonna try to troubleshoot that.

Had some time last night, so I modeled a Escalade version. I might do one more body for it, depending how motivated I get.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_21.jpg
Views:	248
Size:	223.3 KB
ID:	1864  

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_20.jpg
Views:	271
Size:	222.8 KB
ID:	1865  

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_19.jpg
Views:	251
Size:	239.3 KB
ID:	1866  

Box5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2010, 01:07 PM   #10
brent
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Gravedigger

Quote:
Originally Posted by Box5 View Post
yea, the game itself should backface it black, but I think I have my material file setup wrong. I'm gonna try to troubleshoot that.
If your game does not backface, you could copy and paste the rear portion or all the shell, uniform shrink, and reverse polys and set material to black or map to texture.You would have to remove the polys in the glass and or open areas. I have done this many times with my models, the program I make user models for does not deal well with double side objects.
brent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:39 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020