Go Back   AC3D Forums > Technical > AC3D Developers
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12th January 2004, 11:17 PM   #1
orion_squall

Default what are the step for converting a 3D picture to C++ OpenGL

hi,

sorry, I am very very new to this subject...

sorry for my stupidity...

I have the ability to use AC3D to draw 3D pictures (without moving part), but now in a class project have the chance to program 3D games...

I wonder if someone can guide me step by step from exporting a AC3D graphic to C++ OpenGL coode and animate them using game controller...any guidline will be appreciated.

thanks you all
orion_squall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2004, 01:50 AM   #2
LiveWire
Professional user

Default Re: what are the step for converting a 3D picture to C++ Ope

Hi Orin,

The request you have made isnt an easy one, i can't write a tutorial on it right now, but i can give you some information on where to start.

You can download the source code for an AC3D file loader/viewer at:

http://ac3d.org/ac3d/download/AC3Dloader1.1.zip

This is a great good place to start, although i have writtin my own AC3D file Loader that i think is less compilcated(but it is also not complete) than the source you can download, if you want i might be able to send you a modify copy of it.

Im a currently starting an game project(very early stage) similer to a Star Fox game, and i use my AC3D loader to load all the ship models i make in AC3D into the game.

acculy i did not learn AC3D file loading form looking at the downloadble source, i learned it from looking at AC3D files them selves(although this is not such a good idea for begginners, because ac3d files arent always constant, depending on Object Location, Texture, ect...) you can open an .ac file like a text document, this might help if you realy want to know what the format of a .ac file is.

this might also help:

http://ac3d.org/ac3d/man/ac3dfileformat.html