Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Tutorials and How-To's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21st July 2017, 05:27 AM   #1
gezueb
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 4
Default Hollow Object

I would like to make a hollow object -> thin peripheral wall. When I try to do a boolean subtract with a downscaled object of the original, I am not able to select the smaller object within the other because it is invisible and not therefore not clickable. Any suggestions welcome. Georg
gezueb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2017, 04:40 PM   #2
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 207
Default Re: Hollow Object

Quote:
Originally Posted by gezueb View Post
I would like to make a hollow object -> thin peripheral wall. When I try to do a boolean subtract with a downscaled object of the original, I am not able to select the smaller object within the other because it is invisible and not therefore not clickable. Any suggestions welcome. Georg
move your viewpoint inside?
or simply select the second object in the Hierarchy window?
or lock the outside object in Hierarchy then your select will only get the inner one?

or, for a peripheral wall, put 2D outlines on the floor and extrude upwards.

cheers
peter
__________________
--
P e t e r M e i n i n g e r
------------------------------------

The X-Plane Freeware Project
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2017, 04:16 AM   #3
gezueb
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 4
Default Re: Hollow Object

Thank you, Peter!
In the mean time I have found a similar solution:

I name the inner object "inner_object" then select the outer and select by name the inner_object. Then the boolean subtract works.

Hide or lock does not work as the boolean extrude does not recognize two selections when the first gets hidden or locked after beeing selected..

Seeing that you come from the Xplane community so do I. I have modelled my airplane, a Scandinavisk Aero Industrii KZ-7 "Lark" with the Planemaker. Now I try to print it on a 3D printer. This is pretty challenging for me as the planemaker designs are for "looks" only and not for "volume".
gezueb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:24 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020