Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Scripts and Mods
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26th February 2009, 05:03 AM   #1
Mossie
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Mossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 369
Default Request: Extrude in parallel

I have a new request, which may be easier then the last one.

I'd like to be able to extrude/create a single object with multiple surfaces, regardless of x,y,x position, with the resulting surfaces being parallel to the original, with the normals aligned and all edges attached.

So if you have a surface and what to thicken it, then input the thicknes into a dialog and go.

Use for creating windows, windscreens on any vehicle or plane.

Terms used to call this vary from shell objects to parallel objects.

Something like this image, to roof section.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Regards, Gerry "Mossie" Mos
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
WW1 Aircraft Library
http://ww1-aircraft.info/

Mossie 3D CAD, "Prompt and Precise"
http://mossie3dcad.com/
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2009, 06:14 AM   #2
Mossie
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Mossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 369
Default Re: Request: Extrude in parallel

Doh.... this feature is already there, extrude by normal.

Learn something new every day.

However, what it doesn't do it maintain a parallel surface. Try it on a half pipe and see what you get, the edges get misaligned.

So is this a "bug" ?
__________________
Regards, Gerry "Mossie" Mos
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
WW1 Aircraft Library
http://ww1-aircraft.info/

Mossie 3D CAD, "Prompt and Precise"
http://mossie3dcad.com/

Last edited by Mossie; 27th February 2009 at 06:38 AM.
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2009, 09:06 AM   #3
luuckyy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
luuckyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: France
Posts: 737
Default Re: Request: Extrude in parallel

"No" this is not a bug, this is the way it works in AC3D when you extrude several "non-aligned" faces at once.
What we need is something usually called "extrude region" (by normal).
I hope it will be implemented in the future.

So I'm with you with that request.
__________________
OL.
luuckyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2013, 08:15 PM   #4
jentron
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 139
Default Re: Request: Extrude in parallel

Do we have this yet? With the development of 3D printing this sounds like a useful tool to give surfaces a specified depth... If it doesn't exist yet I may have to try creating it...

Ron
jentron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2013, 03:34 AM   #5
Mossie
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Mossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 369
Default Re: Request: Extrude in parallel

I'm not aware at it exists, but would be happy to be proven wrong.
__________________
Regards, Gerry "Mossie" Mos
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
WW1 Aircraft Library
http://ww1-aircraft.info/

Mossie 3D CAD, "Prompt and Precise"
http://mossie3dcad.com/
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2013, 07:14 AM   #6
Geoffm
Junior Member
Member
 
Geoffm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London UK
Posts: 22
Default Re: Request: Extrude in parallel

Surely the normal extrude does this - use the 'extrude by distance' and decide in which direction you want the faces extruded (eg 0,0,0.2 to extrude along the Z axis, 0.2,.2,.2 for a diagonal extrusion).
Geoffm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2013, 09:55 PM   #7
jentron
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 139
Default Re: Request: Extrude in parallel

Geoffm,

Thanks for pointing the Extrude tool out. It does exactly what I was thinking about implementing, which is duplicating each face, swapping its normal, and moving the vertexes $(width) along the line which bisects all the surface normals.

I see now the problem Mossie was talking about earlier. The new plane only ends up parallel to the original plane if all the surrounding faces are the same angle, further $(width) is not the distance between the two faces unless the whole region is flat.

This will require further contemplation to come up with an algorithm...

Ron
jentron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2013, 10:55 PM   #8
jentron
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 139
Default Re: Request: Extrude in parallel

I think the math below will do the extrusion we're after, I just need to figure out how to write an Ac3d plug-in to do the work, after looking at the tcl commands available I don't think its sufficient to do much of anything.

Code:
d = distance to extrude, scalar
N[] //surface (plane) normal, vector

M[] // vertex normal vector, average (bisector) of adjoining plane normals
V0 // original vertex location, point
Vs // transformed vertex location, point

// Should replace V0 with average of all surface points?
Ps = V0+dN[] //transform point on surface vector math, point

// Helper variables

// k can live for the whole surface
k = N[x]Ps[x]+N[y]Ps[y]+N[z]Ps[z]

// t must be calculated per vertex
t=(k-N[x]V0[x]-N[y]V0[y]-N[z]V0[z])/(N[x]M[x]+N[y]M[y]+N[z]M[z])

// Vs new vertex location
Vs[x] = V0[x] + tM[x]
Vs[y] = V0[y] + tM[y]
Vs[z] = V0[z] + tM[z]
jentron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:27 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020