Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Tutorials and How-To's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 2nd December 2008, 06:00 PM   #1
LightWizard

Default Need help creating texture maps

I'm a newbie trying to create Sculpties for Second Life. I created a couple of objects and I'm having trouble with texture maps (at least I think this is where my issue lies).

I posted a question on this on the general discussion...it has more detail on the issues I had. But, seeing the threads here in this forum, this looks to be the better place to ask for help...I'll try to describe it more succinctly as well.

I made a goblet by rotating it's edge shape by 360 degrees. It's a fully closed surface, with the outside of the goblet wrapping around the rim and then down into the inside...and it has a closed bottom, so there should be no gaps in its surfaces.

I also took a sphere and manipulated it to be flattened with a concave bown in the inside (trying to make a rock pool).

Both look terrible when I bring them into 2nd life. For the cup, actually creating the texture map with the cylindrical stitching works pretty well, but the inside gets no texture and shows in Second Life as transparent. Spherical texture maps don't work well, stem gets cut off, no bottom, etc.

For the pool, the only one that even vaguely seemed to work was the original spherical mapping that came from the original sphere...any attempts to modifify it with creating a new map resulted in a mess. For the original spherical map, I got the dreaded gap which I found in another post is due to the odd choice of max numbers of surfaces/vertexes chosen for 2nd life...will try later to fix that if I learn how to use the TCE.