Go Back   AC3D Forums > Technical > AC3D Bugs and Problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 5th February 2009, 05:22 PM   #1
jgreene33
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default Problem with SL triangles

dont seem to be having any trouble getting it to work.(importing into second life) however two things ive been having issue with is one... the tiangles dont seem to replicate acuratly and sometimes im getting math errors... theres always visable seems between the triangles and some triangles even when no error reports are just completly off. any input into this matter would be apreciated...




Last edited by jgreene33; 5th February 2009 at 05:50 PM.
jgreene33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2009, 03:09 AM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,382
Default Re: Problem with triangles

Looks great. Remember that each triangle is a whole prim and is actually a cube that has parameters set to make it look like a triangle. And, as each triangle is a 3D SL prim, it must have a thickness (zero thickness is not allowed) - that's why you see the visible edges.

This is not a restriction or fault with AC3D or the triangle loader - it's more of a restriction with SL - you can't have arbitary 3D objects made from (totally flat) triangles, only prims or sculpties are allowed.

Missing triangles may be too big/small or too far away, or perhaps some of the build events are getting lost in a busy scene.

Math errors are usually caused by blank lines in the tri note file (usually one at the end) -usually nothing to worry about.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2009, 09:55 AM   #3
pcguru
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Problem with SL triangles

I too am having trouble w/generating complex objects w/the tri creator. I was successful at one of my first attempts at a 670 prim object (very complex - at the "paste limit" of SL (btw - anyone know how to get around that??)).

Then attempts to get simpler objects generated the same way keep throwing math errors and stops (no blank lines are in the file - even at the end). I will attach an example.

These objects are generated using a Mathematica (geometric E8 polytope). I save as an .obj import to AC3D. Works great. Then I weld, extrude and triangulate. Export as a .tri and paste into the .tri creator.

note: these are basically all extruded edge lines (not surfaces). If I "create surfaces" those basically work. Is there something I can look for in the .tri file or get it to ignore the math error and keep generating ?

any ideas ??
greg
pcguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:28 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020