Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D Work In Progress / Showcase
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 19th July 2007, 08:27 AM   #1
Cynic
Expert member

Default I'm new and learning. My WIP.

I used to use AC3D something on the order of a decade ago, but let me subscription lapse due to a fading dream. Well, I'm back and I'm still trying to accomplish what I set out to do 10 years ago...start up my own game development company.

The problem is, I'm a programmer, not really an artist. I picked up both gamespace and AC3D. Both have their strengths and weaknesses. Thankfully, they can speak back and forth in dxf speak.

First up, a game of space battles. It's first person, pilot or captain's seat. Imagine sitting the captain's chair of the Enterprise, or the Promethius (for you Stargate SG-1 fans). Imagine also the game has two play modes: Newtonian or hollywood. Furthermore, two command modes: co-op (bridge crew) and solo.

But. this is deviating from my WIP, which requires some additional deviation to lead up to it.

I'm a child of the 70s, but I continued playing throughout the 80s. I don't know how many of you are familiar with the 80s in the US. Disco was dead. new wave was growing (Blondie, B-52s, Talking Heads. The Cars, etc), hair was exploding and everyone was wearing leg warmers, even in the summertime. It was a dorky period.

MS-DOS ruled the desktop. Bill Gates was in the process of stealing Apple's windows idea. 640K RAM was all you needed, etc.

The games were cool, but they weren't the graphical masterpieces of today. We still played tabletop games. That's when people came together at the table, they brought rulebooks, paper, pencils/pens, polyhedral dice.

The 80s was also the age of the RPG. Everyone was putting out an RPG.

Star Trek had a nice one by FASA, with a pretty sweet star ship combat system. It was based off 2d10 to make it a percentile role.

There was Traveler, another space game, based on 2d6.