Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10th September 2011, 03:41 PM   #1
DarkMesh

Default My First Axe needs help

Hi everyone, just bought AC3D and really enjoying it so far. I'm somewhat new to 3D modelling and I have been working on this model of an Axe for a bit and was looking for some advice on what method I could use to join the blade with the handle, or actually what I guess is the poll or butt of the Axe and the eye that the handle fits into. Anyway, any suggestions at all about this model would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MyFirstAxe.png
Views:	136
Size:	69.5 KB
ID:	2386  

Last edited by DarkMesh; 10th September 2011 at 03:43 PM.
DarkMesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2011, 05:21 PM   #2
Stiglr
Professional user

Default Re: My First Axe needs help

Before answering your question, you may not really need to join the two in one mesh. You could simply select the vertices at the edge of the axe blade and just move them until they "go inside" the blade ring. It might look just fine.

But, if you're a stickler for tight, compact meshes, good for you! To neatly join the axe blade to the metal cylinder...

1) First, in Surface Select mode, grab the two innermost surfaces on the blade facing the ring, and delete them. You won't be needing them.

2) Then, go to Vertice Select mode. Select, in counterclockwise order, the vertices that describe any of the four faces you need to describe to close in the space you have there. After selecting any group of vertices, use the Vertex > Create Ordered Surface (or Ctrl+Shift+S) to create a new surface. Do this for the two sides, the top and the bottom.