Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Tutorials and How-To's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13th August 2006, 10:17 PM   #1
georgep4
Junior Member
Junior member
 
georgep4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Red face Import Adobe Illustrator

I have a logo in Illustrator. What would be the best method to import it in AC3D?
georgep4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2006, 11:51 PM   #2
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default Re: Import Adobe Illustrator

How about making a .jpg of your Illustrator logo, and use it as a texture on a simple rectangle. Use the rectangle as a guide to creating polys and other objects, which you can add dimension to in AC3D.
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2006, 01:27 PM   #3
georgep4
Junior Member
Junior member
 
georgep4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Talking Re: Import Adobe Illustrator

Ok I redrew it in AC3D. I have also extruded it however the back of my 3d object is hollow. Is there a cap holes functon? I would like the back to be solid.

Thanks
GP4
georgep4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2006, 01:31 PM   #4
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default Re: Import Adobe Illustrator

Select the "front facing" surface(s) and when you extrude them, the front face should remain. if you do multiple extrusions, the interim faces will be left behind too.

(even better if you combine all surfaces to be extruded into one single surface first, extrude them as one face, and then (re)do a triangulate when you're done modifying it)

For things like cylinders, thre's a Cap Ends box you need to check to avoid merely making "tubes".

Or, actually...

It's possible that when you redrew objects from your Illustrator guide that you created poly lines only? Select all the vertices on the front face and select Vertices/Create Convex Surface/Object. That will create the face.
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals

Last edited by Stiglr; 14th August 2006 at 01:33 PM.
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2009, 06:16 PM   #5
JonWeber-UTS
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Import Adobe Illustrator

Try using Illustrator's "Export" function--export the art as a .dxf file, then import the .dxf file into AC3D.
JonWeber-UTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:52 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020