Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Tutorials and How-To's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13th December 2008, 06:37 PM   #1
sewerhunter
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Unhappy Extruding from a Surface

I'm a new user, working on creating 3D images of ships from builders plans. I use the polygon tool to create the shape of an individual member, then the extrude function to make it three dimensional. However, it doesn't work consistently, and more often than not, when trying to extrude I receive the message, "Extrude Failed: There are no external surface edges." Can somebody walk me through how to do this correctly?"
sewerhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2008, 04:10 PM   #2
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Extruding from a Surface

Make sure you have either just a section of an object or a polyline, versus a completely closed object so the extrusion isn't overlapping itself. (I'm probably not explaining this terribly well... )

i.e. You can't extrude a whole cube, but you could select the top of the cube and extrude it and that would work.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:26 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020