Go Back   AC3D Forums > Technical > AC3D Bugs and Problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1st July 2008, 11:16 AM   #11
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,564
Default Re: Running the Linux version of AC3D

For Ubuntu, download and install http://packages.ubuntu.com/gutsy/lib...B2.10-glibc2.2

For 64bit - see : http://www.terigo.com/?tag=ubuntu

Last edited by Andy; 1st July 2008 at 04:06 PM.
Andy is offline  
Old 7th July 2008, 07:17 AM   #12
tyjbr
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
Smile Re: Running the Linux version of AC3D

Ubuntu 8.04 32 bit install.

http://packages.debian.org/etch/i386...bc2.2/download (install)
http://www.inivis.com/forum/attachme...5&d=1150393715 png.zip ^^ (thanks andy)
copy libpng.so.2 to /usr/lib/
make links like dlarue said ^^ (thanks)
sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libtiff.so.4.2.1 /usr/lib/libtiff.so.3
install some tiff stuff if needed and retry if the above dosent work
sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libpng12.so.0 /usr/lib/libpng.so.2
cd /to AC3D dir
./ac3d
./ac3ds (compiz desktop)
see if all plugins loads.

make a shell script in AC3D dir with this in it and name it startac3d.sh
export AC3D_HOME=/home/YOUR-NAME/AC3D && /home/YOUR-NAME/AC3D/ac3ds

save it and make it executable.
make a shorcut launcher to startac3d.sh
I like mine under Graphics in the main menu
System > Preferences > Main Menu
use one of the pics in the manual folder to make an icon.

Works perfect on Ubuntu 8.04 32 bit for me after that.
All plugins load.

Ubuntu 8.04 64 bit install.

I did the same for 64 but did what dasteph said (thanks)
You'll need:
ia32-libs
ia32-libs-gtk
http://packages.debian.org/etch/i386...bc2.2/download
sudo dpkg --force-architecture -i libstdc++2.10-glibc2.2_2.95.4-27_i386.deb

Seemed to work fine but I cant say if all the plugins loaded or not though because my 64 went down old hdd fail.
I guess Ill find out when I get a new hdd to run 64 again.

Now how do I get povray to render in a window like on Windows if I can?
I have in the boxes
/usr/bin/povray
+UV +UL +A0.2 +FT32 &
seems to just output a file.
Exporting ac3dpovfile.pov
OK
Executing: exec "/usr/bin/povray" +UV +UL +A0.2 +FT32 & &
Result: 18396

And how do I get some fonts to pick for 2d/3d text?
I put in /etc/X11/fonts for the font path but not really sure what to really put there for font path.

I like the penguin model with the linux version by the way .

About mac I dont know because I dont own a mac yet.
But I do know that I was running xp 64 on top of ubuntu 64 8.04 with one of the virtual things that can do it.
Cant remeber wich one but I tried a few from Add and Remove programs and any virtual xp 64 would not detect my graphics card.

For now working good just need fonts ,really povray is not really a big deal but would be nice if it worked like windows and rendered to a window.

didnt notice 6.4 version , the above I used for ac3d 6.2 and ubuntu hardy 8.04

also whats better for ac3d, libstdc++2.10-glibc2.2_2.95.4-27_i386.deb ?
or libstdc++2.10-glibc2.2_2.95.4-24_i386.deb
the 27 is newer and better?
and do i even need it with ac3d 6.4? because I uninstalled it with synaptic and ac3d 6.4 loaded without it.

Last edited by tyjbr; 7th July 2008 at 10:33 AM. Reason: did not notice 6.4 version is out
tyjbr is offline  
Old 26th December 2008, 01:50 PM   #13
Gus
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: Running the Linux version of AC3D

Anybody using AC3D on Ubuntu 8.10 ? If so, can you explain how to install it please? Thanks...
Gus is offline  
Old 21st July 2012, 10:00 AM   #14
shannonlucas
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Lightbulb Re: Running the Linux version of AC3D

Running 7.0.11 on 64-bit Ubuntu 12.04 LTS

On a fresh install of 64-bit Ubuntu 12.04, AC3D will fail to start, and you will receive this error when trying to run AC3D:

Code:
./ac3d: error while loading shared libraries: libXmu.so.6: 
cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
By default, only the 64-bit version of libXmu is installed, and AC3D requires the 32-bit version. You can install the 32-bit version of the library (libxmu6:i386) by using Software Center or by using the command line:

Code:
sudo apt-get install libxmu6:i386
After that, AC3D should launch correctly.
shannonlucas is offline  
Old 30th August 2012, 07:35 PM   #15
hyde
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default Re: Running the Linux version of AC3D

Running 7.0.11 on 64-bit Fedora 17

On a fresh install of 64-bit Fedora 17, AC3D will fail to start, and you will receive this error when trying to run AC3D:
Code:
./ac3d: error while loading shared libraries: libpng12.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
How can I fix this?
hyde is offline  
Old 31st August 2012, 05:15 PM   #16
Noob
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 35
Default Re: Running the Linux version of AC3D

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyde View Post
Running 7.0.11 on 64-bit Fedora 17

On a fresh install of 64-bit Fedora 17, AC3D will fail to start, and you will receive this error when trying to run AC3D:
Code:
./ac3d: error while loading shared libraries: libpng12.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
How can I fix this?
It looks like you're missing the PNG library. If you open a terminal and type in

Code:
ls -l /usr/lib/libpng12*
what does it say?

Edit: It's been a while since I used Fedora, but try this:
Code:
yum install libpng-compat

Last edited by Noob; 31st August 2012 at 05:17 PM. Reason: Added more info.
Noob is offline  
Old 31st August 2012, 05:44 PM   #17
hyde
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default Re: Running the Linux version of AC3D

Here's the reply.
Code:
ls -l /usr/lib64/libpng12*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     18  8月 26 14:01 /usr/lib64/libpng12.so.0 -> libpng12.so.0.49.0
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 158744  4月  7 14:28 /usr/lib64/libpng12.so.0.49.0
It should be in /usr/lib? 32bit version?

Edit: Yes, It requires 32bit version!
After install libpng-compat-1.5.10-1.fc17.i686, it works. Thanks!

Last edited by hyde; 31st August 2012 at 05:52 PM.
hyde is offline  
Old 31st August 2012, 06:18 PM   #18
Noob
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 35
Default Re: Running the Linux version of AC3D

Glad to hear you got it working!

I do have a quick question, when you zoom with the mousewheel does it select whatever is underneath the cursor?

It does in every distro I've tested so far, although I haven't tried Fedora yet.
Noob is offline  
Old 31st August 2012, 09:57 PM   #19
hyde
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default Re: Running the Linux version of AC3D

Yes, hence center button zoom in is useless.
hyde is offline  
Old 1st March 2017, 08:42 AM   #20
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,564
Default Re: Running the Linux version of AC3D

This thread has been replaced with this one:

http://www.inivis.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7079
Andy is offline  
Closed Thread


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:02 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020