Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Tutorials and How-To's
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 21st November 2007, 06:55 AM   #1
larryfroot

Default importing paths and exporting for 3D printing

Hello...I am a newbie. In fact I am so much of a newbie I haven't even installed ac3d yet! Before I make the effort of another learning curve, I just wanted to check two things. Firstly can you import vector paths into ac3d from a vector illustration package like illustrator (windows) or Inkscape (linux)? If not are there any bezier and other path tools in ac3d (or a good plugin) that can be used to create highly decorative angular and cursive designs that can then be placed onto a surface so as to either emboss the path shape in, or to extrude the path shape out (but for it to still be a part of the model). Alot of this stuff will be in great detail, but I am assuming that is not an issue.

Secondly, can I export the finished model into a file type that a 3D printer can use?

Thanks for your help on this one! Much appreciated as I really would like to go with ac3d; it seems to be a good way of achieving what I need without purchasing a host of features that I will never use.
larryfroot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2007, 01:56 PM   #2
lisa
Professional user

Default Re: importing paths and exporting for 3D printing

I import vectors from Corel Draw 12 into AC3D using either DXF or TTF as an exchange format.

AC3D does not support Beziers. It does have a "spline" tool which smooths a line, but you cannot alter the control nodes after the transform. Most people who are building curved surfaces directly in AC3D use a technique called subdivision surfaces instead. You can read a very detailed explanation here: http://www.gamasutra.com/features/20.../sharp_pfv.htm Or a shorter explanation here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subdivision_surface