Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D Work In Progress / Showcase
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 8th April 2007, 05:19 PM   #1
DoomsdayRenderer
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 24
Default Modeling a human... and a question

I'm trying to find out if I can model a human with AC3D. This far it's going as expected, but now I checked how to change from virtual mirror to really mirrored model for rendering. I did Mirror and Optimize Surfaces, but then the joining doesn't look too good. What else should I do? Vertexes in the 0 X-coord are really 0, I moved them there in the beginning.

Uh, rendering is done with DAZ Studio.
Attached Images
 
DoomsdayRenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2007, 09:26 PM   #2
Dennis
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 899
Default Re: Modeling a human... and a question

The modeling here looks very good.

To ensure you get a seamless join, make sure you perform an "Optimize vertices" (I notice you mentioned "Optimize surfaces" - make sure you hit the vertices as well).

If you have done this and still get a seam, check the AC3D manual for the topic "Snap together by distance". As the description reads:

"If Object->Optimize Vertices does not remove duplicate vertices then it means that the vertices are in very slightly different positions. The solution is to select the vertices along the join and Vertex->Snap Together by Distance. The Object->Optimize Vertices will remove the duplicate vertices and allow the surface to appear smooth."

HTH
Dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2007, 05:22 AM   #3
DoomsdayRenderer
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 24
Default Re: Modeling a human... and a question

Thanks, Dennis, I'll try that, when I'll get next round of modeling done. (Eww, face needs to be done, I'll need to find out how to micromanage my selections...)
DoomsdayRenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2007, 02:21 PM   #4
little_penguin
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Austria
Posts: 80
Default Re: Modeling a human... and a question

Another solution:
Move the object near one of the axes, so that all vertices, which should be connections to the mirror of the object, lie on that axis
(for example: u choose the Z-axis -> the Z-coordinates should be 0 then)
Then use the function: Object / Mirror / Z-axis
In this case AC3D should remove all unnecesary vertices automatically
(because 2 vertices are in the same position)
little_penguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2007, 03:42 PM   #5
DoomsdayRenderer
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 24
Default Re: Modeling a human... and a question

Thanks, guys, for advice, but I was the fool... I had extra unseen geometry, which caused the artifacts. Now it's cleaned.

I have rudimentary face now.

Next step is improve hand and feet. Then to polishing...

(All modeling so far with AC3D, but the render was done with DAZ Studio.)
Attached Images
 
DoomsdayRenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2007, 02:07 PM   #6
DoomsdayRenderer
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 24
Default Re: Modeling a human... and a question

Improvements to hands, feet, here and there...

Next should be anatomical proportions checks and then to fine detailing. Endless job...

Btw, AC3D has a very fine tool set, but this Divide Loop plugin is a great addition to it!

(Maybe I should prepare some clothing, so I would not need this censoring black... )
Attached Images
 
DoomsdayRenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020