Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Plugins and Other Resources
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15th March 2007, 03:30 AM   #1
Ham
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: international
Posts: 96
Default PLUGIN: iGame3D_WTF export

I've Posted some information for this plugin here
The MERGE step is obsolete.
iGame3D saves each AC3D object with its own material name
because AC3D uses one texture per object and we use many.

Our Website is here

Aim Instant Message me

email to bill at igame3d dot com

I'm a happy 3D game software developin' fool.

Last edited by Ham; 29th March 2007 at 01:06 AM.
Ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2008, 05:27 PM   #2
Ham
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: international
Posts: 96
Default Re: PLUGIN: iGame3D_WTF export

Year 2008 Update for the iGame3D AC3D WTF Export and now with WTF Import

The importer does not support bones in AC3D (Well, because AC3D doesn't support bones yet),
but textures and polys are working fantastic, and I've not had an issue importing and exporting many many models.

Currently iGame3D is available through sourceforge SVN, but if you shout at me I'll pull together a binary for a web download.

SVN instructions for the brave


Wow that link and the links in the page it links to from the first post are really outdated.
Guess I have some other work to do besides playing with hundreds of models.

Last edited by Ham; 13th March 2008 at 05:34 PM.
Ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2008, 06:49 AM   #3
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: PLUGIN: iGame3D_WTF export

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ham View Post
The importer does not support bones in AC3D (Well, because AC3D doesn't support bones yet),
but textures and polys are working fantastic
Is iGame3D yours? Nifty!

FWIW, don't know if this is helpful for you, but my company's engine needs bone data in its models, too. I extract this from AC3D by using the hierarchy setup and pivot points as bones. As long as you assume everything is at zero rotation (which is typical for neutral poses anyway) then it works quite well.

XPlane seems to do something similar, but they were really clever and let you assign an axis by attaching a polyline so you can store rotations, too.

For skinning information, I have two modes: For the first mode, I assign vertex weights based on overlapping vertices, so if you have an thigh and a shin and the vertices overlap at the knee, I merge that into one vertex with 50% skin weight for the thigh matrix and 50% for the shin matrix. I allow up to four bones per vertex and 256 bones per model. The second mode, the artist names a texture map in the object properties and uses that as a weight map; I just read the bone weights out of the texture.

Of course, this only gets you the rig--you still need another program if you need keyframes--but for a lot of objects like cars, weapons, ragdolls and other physics-based or procedurally animated models, the rig is all you need.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2008, 07:57 AM   #4
Ham
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: international
Posts: 96
Default Re: PLUGIN: iGame3D_WTF export

Fascinating information Lisa.

I had a suspicion there was some way to achieving the required results.
We only use one bone per vertice so its very plausible for us to work out a solution.

We have our own animation editor, so that solution is mostly taken care of.

To answer your question, yep, iGame3D is the creation of myself and Tobias Opfermann, and to give all credit where its due, I'll have to add John Murga for his murgaLua software, which we integrated with last year.

With this information of yours, things are going to become suddenly so much more efficient than they've been. Thanks a bunch!
Ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2008, 03:17 PM   #5
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: PLUGIN: iGame3D_WTF export

Happy to help!

That's really cool with your game engine. Just looking at your screen shots, looks like you got a lot of projects going with it! I know from personal experience how much work that is. That's awesome.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:02 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020