Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D Suggestions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10th February 2011, 05:17 PM   #1
virtualalias
Member
Expert member
 
virtualalias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 67
Arrow Ctrl-Shift-S = Save As

The title says it all. I'm used to it in other programs and it doesn't appear to do anything in AC3D as it stands currently. 8)
__________________
----------------------------------------------------------
AC3D Dock Icon
virtualalias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2011, 07:52 PM   #2
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 598
Default Re: Ctrl-Shift-S = Save As

Well, a quick trip to the File menu shows that that "shortcut" hasn't been assigned to Save As...

But what's stopping you just using the mouse and selecting it?
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2011, 04:23 PM   #3
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,787
Default Re: Ctrl-Shift-S = Save As

Control+shift+S is currently set to create a new surface.
If you really want to change this yourself and you like a quick -hack-, edit tcl/ac3dview.tcl (with Notepad or similar).

Look for:
Code:
    # VERTEX MENU
    acbind $top <Control-S> { ac3d createsurface }
replace "ac3d createsurface" with "menu_save_ac"

so you get:
Code:
    # VERTEX MENU
    acbind $top <Control-S> { menu_save_ac }
Note - all hacking disclaimers apply here

Last edited by Andy; 11th February 2011 at 04:25 PM.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2011, 07:24 PM   #4
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 598
Default Re: Ctrl-Shift-S = Save As

OOPS.... how could I forget that key combo is already assigned?

Sorry for speaking out of turn, Andy!
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2011, 01:09 PM   #5
virtualalias
Member
Expert member
 
virtualalias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 67
Default Re: Ctrl-Shift-S = Save As

Thanks, Andy! I'll give that a shot. As for using my mouse to select it, I certainly can, but I'm always looking for ways to speed up my work-flow with keyboard shortcuts.
__________________
----------------------------------------------------------
AC3D Dock Icon
virtualalias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2011, 01:16 PM   #6
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 598
Default Re: Ctrl-Shift-S = Save As

Be careful what you wish for. Try Blender, which is so keyboard bound as to be almost unusable... in my opinion anyway.

But I have to admit to using certain keyboard shortcuts when I'm in the midst of certain routines.
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2011, 02:04 PM   #7
virtualalias
Member
Expert member
 
virtualalias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 67
Default Re: Ctrl-Shift-S = Save As

Couldn't get into Blender. Photoshop is my drug of choice and I use keyboard shortcuts almost exclusively.
__________________
----------------------------------------------------------
AC3D Dock Icon
virtualalias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2011, 02:24 PM   #8
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 598
Default Re: Ctrl-Shift-S = Save As

Know what you mean re: Blender. I have no choice but to make an attempt to "get into it", as I need to do animations for my project.

But, its so keyboard-bound as to be RIDUCULOUS. Why should you need to hit a command to simply select something and move it????

Keyboard shortcuts are nice to have, especially as you commit them to memory, and as you get to a high level of understanding about a piece of software... but a well-designed program should have a nice, GUI to use as a starting point. People just don't think like computers, they work with their eyes and hands not with arcane keystroke combos.

There is a good reason the mouse was invented.
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2012, 06:21 AM   #9
Snow
Member
Advanced member
 
Snow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Deiningen, Germany
Posts: 42
Default Re: Ctrl-Shift-S = Save As

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiglr View Post
...
Keyboard shortcuts are nice to have, especially as you commit them to memory, and as you get to a high level of understanding about a piece of software... but a well-designed program should have a nice, GUI to use as a starting point. People just don't think like computers, they work with their eyes and hands not with arcane keystroke combos.

There is a good reason the mouse was invented.
A well-designed program should provide alternatives. It's not the programmer who should decide what the user is preferring


There is a good reason for having two hands, so why only use one all the time?
__________________
Mac Pro 8-Core - 12 GB RAM - ATI Radeon HD 5870 - VRAM 1024 MB - Mac OS X 10.6.7 - Cinema Display 20''
Whisky Air Charter - Virtual X-Plane Charter Company
Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2012, 11:36 AM   #10
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 598
Default Re: Ctrl-Shift-S = Save As

With the massive number of features that Blender has, I think the requirements and the expectations are different than for your average application.

The problem I find with Blender is that it seems to rely on the key command as a first frame of reference, when the mouse should be considered for that. As visual a process as creating primitives and moving vertices is, it is easier and far more intuitive for MOST users to click-n-drag, or use buttons, rather than to have to remember some arcane command (which likely has several other combos of Shift/Ctrl and Alt that perform similar or related functions).

Especially for things like "move object in ? axis". How basic is that? Far easier to drag the object in a viewport along the X axis than to have to type in something like "M x 1.032"

AC3D has the far better approach, I think. You can simply drag the object as an intuitive first resort, and you have the option to populate the X field in the Move feature to be exact in your distance. It should be mentioned that those Move fields are also EASY TO FIND, unlike in Blender's visual overkill GUI, where you can spend minutes finding what you want... and heaven help you if what you're looking for is buried in a submenu....!!!!
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) Inivis Limited 2014