Go Back   AC3D Forums > Meeting places > AC3D and X-Plane
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 5th March 2011, 04:00 PM   #1
bargbill
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: memphis tn usa
Posts: 9
Default X-Plane refs? ?

I have a periscope for my flying submarine.
The periscope is 4 tubes that slide together
Animation time in AC3d shows the scope telescoping as hoped.
I then export to Plane-Maker, and it moves nicely.
If I then go back to AC3D and add a dataref, and export to PlaneMaker,
at the select the object screen.. I select the periscope, and quickly
PlaneMaker quits.
I would be happy with using an unused action in X-Plane,
Tail Hook, Incidence, or Dihedral are available.

I have looked at the X-Plane tutorial and AC3D animation, over and over.

Data refs: some show (0), (1),(2) and on and on, and some show ratio.
All I want is for it to go all they way up, and all the way down.

The flying sub .zip contains the aircraft in X-Plane and the periscope!

My first post here, thanks to anyone with a solution.
bargbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2011, 07:24 AM   #2
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 162
Default Re: X-Plane refs? ?

You can use any dataref provided you can trigger it on demand from the sim.
If Planemaker exits there's probably something wrong with your exported object file.

Contact me privately if you want me to have a look at it.

cheers
Peter
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2011, 07:46 AM   #3
bargbill
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: memphis tn usa
Posts: 9
Default Re: X-Plane refs? ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by captainpeter View Post
You can use any dataref provided you can trigger it on demand from the sim.
If Planemaker exits there's probably something wrong with your exported object file.

Contact me privately if you want me to have a look at it.

cheers
Peter
I thank you in advance for any help on dataref use?
I have attached the periscope to this response, and have lengthy explanation
coming to you on private email.

I was in Vienna in 2008, so pretty. We did not allow enough time to see more.

It looks like attachments for files is not available in private mode.
Attached Files
File Type: zip periscope taller4tubes.obj.zip (7.5 KB, 99 views)
bargbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2011, 01:41 PM   #4
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 162
Default Re: X-Plane refs? ?

Here's your periscope controlled via the dataref 'sim/flightmodel2/controls/incidence_ratio'.
Both .ac & .obj file are included together with a dummy texture and placeholder .acf file.

Simply put the folder into your x-plane aircraft folder and open Planemaker to view it.
I have added a incidence handle on the panel in Planemaker btw.

Let me know if you have any questions.

cheers
Peter
Attached Files
File Type: zip u-boat.zip (48.2 KB, 105 views)
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2011, 03:04 PM   #5
bargbill
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: memphis tn usa
Posts: 9
Default Re: X-Plane refs? ?

It works great, smooth up.........
Then the handle goes down and it goes down.

I see what you did and I will try to fix.

I did finally get my version to work with arresting gear switch,
but it pops up quickly, not very real, but it does stay up until switch is used again.

Thank you very much.
I now have a good model as an example, to experiment with.
bargbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 07:35 AM   #6
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 162
Default Re: X-Plane refs? ?

The key is to use a dataref that outputs a floating point value and to specify the appropriate range in AC3D as well. In the example, 'incidence_ratio' outputs a FLOAT between 0.0000 and 1.0000. You would use BOOLEAN datarefs for items which just require a on/off state like a simple switch. BOOL outputs either 0(off) or 1(on). Some datarefs will not output a ratio but actual values like for example 'tire_prop_rot' which you would use for rotating an aircraft wheel properly.

You can find all these in the file 'DataRefs.txt' within your X-Plane/Resources/plugins folder. Don't forget to always copy that file to AC3D's plugins folder after updating X-Plane btw.

peter
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 05:50 PM   #7
bargbill
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: memphis tn usa
Posts: 9
Default Re: X-Plane refs? ?

Thanks for the help.
It gets a little complicated some times.

I realize that one cannot see the periscope and snorkel deploy and retract
in a smooth fashion. You are either looking at the instrument panel, or it has gone up or down before you get to see it.

I have taken the easy way out and will use two de-ice switches that I have not used.

Thanks again for the hand holding and the help, it is greatly appreciated.

Billy Bargagliotti
Your friend in Memphis Tennessee.
bargbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2011, 05:27 AM   #8
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 162
Default Re: X-Plane refs? ?

Have a look at 'Standard->Systems->Sliders' in Planemaker.
You can trigger movement from joystick buttons which would allow you to view the extension from outside.

peter
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2011, 06:12 AM   #9
bargbill
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: memphis tn usa
Posts: 9
Smile Re: X-Plane refs? ?

Thank you, will try sliders.
I understand that they can change times of activation.

Right now my Flying submarine is completing a mission from Palermo Italy
to Tripoli Libya.

I do not know how accurate X-Plane is. But if it is almost perfect, I have a
very nice new aircraft and strategy and tactics.

As soon as I land, I will try sliders.

Thanks again,
bargbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2011, 06:17 AM   #10
bargbill
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: memphis tn usa
Posts: 9
Default Want to see some of your work!

You obviously are an expert at X-Plane and AC3D.

What do you build?

Obviously I am still pretty primitive at this, but getting better every day, with some help from folks like you!

I have chosen to build aircraft that have been designed, but not built.
Or were built, and failed. We have an advantage of prototyping on X-Plane
that the early aviation community did not have.
bargbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) Inivis Limited 2014