Go Back   AC3D Forums > Technical > AC3D Developers
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18th March 2007, 10:15 PM   #1
AndrewFernie
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 12
Default Object Merge

Is there a routine available for use in plugins that is equivalent to the Merge command on the object menu?

Thank you,
Andrew
AndrewFernie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2007, 06:19 PM   #2
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Object Merge

If there's not a direct method in the header, all registered functions can be called via the tcl_command function... even functions you've added yourself via plug-ins.

To find the list of commands available, use the 'ac3d list' command. Any commands that start with ac3d go to the ac3d command interpreter. Everything else goes to the tcl command interpreter.

The command for merging is "ac3d object_merge".

Hope that helps!

-Lisa
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2007, 12:58 PM   #3
AndrewFernie
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 12
Default Re: Object Merge

Yes, that did exactly what I was after. Also a useful general technique for me to keep in mind for the future.

Thank you,
Andrew
AndrewFernie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2009, 03:50 PM   #4
Phil BoBo
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Object Merge

In using the 'ac3d list' command, where does it print the list of commands?

I called that command but it didn't seem to do anything.
Phil BoBo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2009, 03:14 PM   #5
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Object Merge

Depends on how you call it, easiest way is from telenet, in which case it will output the list to your terminal. (Turn on networking in AC3D in the options panel).
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2010, 07:17 PM   #6
fabrizio fracaroli
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brazil
Posts: 21
Default What should I do to undo the effect MERGE ?

What should I do to undo the effect MERGE?
I'm making a plane for a flight simulator, this is my first plane.
I did that all parts of the landing gear were united Across the effect "MERGE".
But now, to make the animations I believe the parts should be separated. there is any way to undo this effect "MERGE"?
I already saved the file.
fabrizio fracaroli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2010, 10:08 PM   #7
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default Re: Object Merge

Fabrizio:

I've had to do exactly the same thing. Here's how.

Say it's a landing gear, and you want to articulate it with shock absorber oleo effects, and have the wheel turn when it's rolling on the ground. And when you start assume the entire gear leg and tire in are one merged piece called "gear_left".

1) Isolate the gear by "hiding" or "locking" every other part of the plane.

2) Go to surface mode. Be sure that "select through" is selected.

3) Drag the cursor to select all the surfaces of the top half of the gear leg (use a knife to cut it if it's one single leg).

4) Surface > Cut Away Object. Then go to Object mode and name that "upper_gear_l (for, upper gear leg left).

Repeat 3 and four to separate any parts that will be animated independently. In the models I do, it usually ends up being a) upper gear leg b) lower gear leg/axle and c) wheel.
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:10 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020