Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 7th April 2021, 11:45 AM   #1
jleslie
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 47
Default running AC3D on a raspberry pi

Does anybody have experience doing this? I have a 4gb and an 8GB raspberry pi and I was hoping it will work. - J
jleslie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2021, 12:23 PM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,381
Default Re: running AC3D on a raspberry pi

Unless an Intel emulator has been developed, it won't work.


I did try a port of AC3D to R-Pi a while ago. The problem was the OpenGL version, which was the embedded version and not compatible with the (full) OpenGL AC3D uses.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2021, 01:44 PM   #3
jleslie
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 47
Default Re: running AC3D on a raspberry pi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
Unless an Intel emulator has been developed, it won't work.


I did try a port of AC3D to R-Pi a while ago. The problem was the OpenGL version, which was the embedded version and not compatible with the (full) OpenGL AC3D uses.
Let me clarify, I see that AC3D now has a linux distribution. can I run that on a raspberry pi buster linux?
jleslie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2021, 05:23 AM   #4
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,381
Default Re: running AC3D on a raspberry pi

AC3D's Linux version is for Intel PC processors. Raspberry PIs use Arm chips and are therefore not compatible with Linux-Intel binaries. So, the answer is no.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2021, 07:44 AM   #5
jleslie
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 47
Default Re: running AC3D on a raspberry pi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
AC3D's Linux version is for Intel PC processors. Raspberry PIs use Arm chips and are therefore not compatible with Linux-Intel binaries. So, the answer is no.

Thank you. -J
jleslie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:34 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020