Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22nd February 2007, 12:08 AM   #1
omarsr
Junior Member
Member
 
omarsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Default Do 2 sided materials exist in AC3D5?

In 3Dmax, you can assign a 2 sided material to a one sided mesh. This allows a one sided mesh to appear to be two sided. Can AC3D5 do this also? It would really help if a two sided material exists in AC3D5. If it does, where can I get it?
__________________
omarsr
_________________________________________
Panzer Vor! mod dev in TargetWare
JG51 Pilot in WB's, MacAttack pilot in TW
Kommandant 1SS.P.D. "LAH" in TW
CEO, omarsr Panzerwerke GmbH
_________________________________________
omarsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2007, 11:33 AM   #2
foxa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Greensboro NC, USA
Posts: 337
Default Re: Do 2 sided materials exist in AC3D5?

I'm not aware of 2 sided materials in AC3D, I just make the surface 2-sided (not sure what this does to the poly count)

Art
foxa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2007, 04:28 PM   #3
luuckyy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
luuckyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: France
Posts: 735
Default Re: Do 2 sided materials exist in AC3D5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxa View Post
(not sure what this does to the poly count)Art
It does nothing .
__________________
OL.
luuckyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2007, 06:17 PM   #4
foxa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Greensboro NC, USA
Posts: 337
Default Re: Do 2 sided materials exist in AC3D5?

Good to know - thanks

Art
foxa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 08:55 PM   #5
omarsr
Junior Member
Member
 
omarsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Default Re: Do 2 sided materials exist in AC3D5?

I always thought that if a one sided mesh had 4 polys, then making the mesh two sided would double the polys to 8. Is this not right?
__________________
omarsr
_________________________________________
Panzer Vor! mod dev in TargetWare
JG51 Pilot in WB's, MacAttack pilot in TW
Kommandant 1SS.P.D. "LAH" in TW
CEO, omarsr Panzerwerke GmbH
_________________________________________
omarsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2007, 02:09 AM   #6
Dennis
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 899
Default Re: Do 2 sided materials exist in AC3D5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by omarsr View Post
I always thought that if a one sided mesh had 4 polys, then making the mesh two sided would double the polys to 8. Is this not right?
The number of polys drawn in most 3D engines is doubled for 2-sided objects, as you describe. However, the actual stored geometry is not doubled.

So a 2-sided triangle is still stored to disk (and in memory) as 3 vertices and a single surface, but at run-time (within a 3D application), there are 2 surfaces drawn.

HTH
Dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2007, 09:50 PM   #7
omarsr
Junior Member
Member
 
omarsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Default Re: Do 2 sided materials exist in AC3D5?

So end use is a deciding factor. If I am creating for a video game, I still need to take care with which meshes are one sided, and which are two sided as rendering needs to be taken into consideration. Right?
__________________
omarsr
_________________________________________
Panzer Vor! mod dev in TargetWare
JG51 Pilot in WB's, MacAttack pilot in TW
Kommandant 1SS.P.D. "LAH" in TW
CEO, omarsr Panzerwerke GmbH
_________________________________________
omarsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2007, 05:37 PM   #8
Dennis
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 899
Default Re: Do 2 sided materials exist in AC3D5?

Quote:
Originally Posted by omarsr View Post
So end use is a deciding factor. If I am creating for a video game, I still need to take care with which meshes are one sided, and which are two sided as rendering needs to be taken into consideration. Right?
Correct
Dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:41 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020