Go Back   AC3D Forums > Technical > AC3D Bugs and Problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24th June 2022, 12:56 PM   #1
gogosAC
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 34
Default extruding without texture

Hello Andy,

in version 9

extrude-functions do not take away the texture.

Not even the color/material (surfaces transparent).

Is this a bug in 9?

Greetings Gogo
gogosAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2022, 06:46 AM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,452
Default Re: extruding without texture

Sorry, please can you explain more. Which functions?
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2022, 05:18 PM   #3
gogosAC
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 34
Default Re: extruding without texture

Hello Andy,

a) attached pictures

extruded edge


---

extruded by distance



------
------

b) in version 8 vertex-welding was displayed in the middle of the screen as remaining

in version 9 this is displayed only for a short time in the below line

for me, this is worse, because I have to control the number/plausibility of welded vertices

Last edited by gogosAC; 25th June 2022 at 05:24 PM.
gogosAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2022, 04:03 AM   #4
gogosAC
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 34
Default Re: extruding without texture

Hello Andy,

did some tests:

1) normally placed surface (2S) -> then extrude edge

2) surface (selected as surface or object) switched to 1S (my normal work-mode)

-> then extrude edge -> added surface = transparent -> CORRECTION: in this case the normal was flipped

BUT (picture above, yellow circles) flip normals doesn't help -> "real" transparent (should be white(1) ??), but texturing possible


Last edited by gogosAC; 26th June 2022 at 04:19 AM.
gogosAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2022, 06:41 AM   #5
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,452
Default Re: extruding without texture

There is a bug in some of the edge code.


I think you'll find that the surfaces are there but flipped. It would be great if you could confirm this.


This has now been fixed and a bugfix release will be out soon.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2022, 02:03 PM   #6
gogosAC
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 34
Default Re: extruding without texture

Hello Andy,

"I think you'll find that the surfaces are there but flipped. It would be great if you could confirm this."

Yes, see my "CORRECTION", I discovered this for edge extruding.

BUT (picture above, yellow circles - extruding (3D) by distance) flip normals doesn't help -> "real" transparent (should be white(1) ??), but texturing is possible

----------

please, look at #3 b), too

Last edited by gogosAC; 26th June 2022 at 02:06 PM.
gogosAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:26 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020