Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th December 2003, 05:51 AM   #1
DavkeG
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9
Default N00b needs Help on POVRAY

Hi, I'm a newbie on AC3D and POVRAY, I'm starting to get the hang of the AC3D basics but I just can't use povray. When I render an object via AC3D-POVray whitout textures ti works, but when i ad textures It doesn't work anymore.
Oh...and how can I store my rendered image as a BMP or JPG plz?
Thanks ahead for any help
DavkeG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2003, 10:43 AM   #2
DavkeG
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9
Default Re: N00b needs Help on POVRAY

and by the way: how do you change the background color of your rendered image? It's always black. Is there a way without having to create a sky dome?
DavkeG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2003, 12:26 PM   #3
DavkeG
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9
Default Re: N00b needs Help on POVRAY

I just figured out what the problem with the texture thing was thaks to another post on this forum :
Fro other noobs with the same problem : when your texture is a BMP file, and when you try to render it and some command line turns yellow=> put "sys" (whitout "") in front of "filename.bmp"
and run it again
DavkeG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2003, 02:58 PM   #4
DavkeG
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9
Default Re: N00b needs Help on POVRAY

I still don't know how to turn your renders to BMP or JPG files tough...
Or how to change the backgorund color...
Any help is more than welcome
DavkeG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2003, 03:19 PM   #5
Thaellin
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 255
Default Re: N00b needs Help on POVRAY

The rendering output, by default, is found in ac3dpovfile.bmp, in the AC3D directory. BMP's can easily be converted to JPG by any number of programs. I'm not aware of a switch that causes POVRay to output JPG directly, but there may be one.

Changing the rendered background color is really quite easily done with a sky sphere. Edit the ac3dpovfile.pov file, go to the end and add:

sky_sphere {
pigment { color rgb<1 1 1> }
}

I believe that should give you a white background. Change the <1 1 1> to whatever RGB values you like, using 0 for 'off', 1 for 'on' and decimal values in between for partial values.

I do not know how to change background color without a sky sphere, but I expect POVRay's scene description language help-file would tell you how if there is another way.

Good luck,
-- Jeff
Thaellin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2003, 05:27 PM   #6
DavkeG
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9
Default Re: N00b needs Help on POVRAY

Hey thanks a lot man
This is the first ever 3D program i've ever worked with and this forum has helped me out a lot.
I've mostly been doing tutorials and most of them worked perfecly.
Still waiting for some inspiration to come through but I got a feeling it wont take very long
DavkeG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2003, 05:48 PM   #7
DavkeG
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9
Default Re: N00b needs Help on POVRAY

hey i just found out how to change the background color:
at the bottom add:

}
background { color rgb <0.2, 0.2, 0.3> }

not really sure what the numbers do though, 'cause i always seem to be getting a white bkgr whatever number i fill in...
DavkeG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2003, 06:06 PM   #8
Thaellin
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 255
Default Re: N00b needs Help on POVRAY

Remove the commas - just use spaces when specifying a color
-- Jeff
Thaellin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2003, 06:29 AM   #9
DavkeG
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9
Default Re: N00b needs Help on POVRAY

Hey I just figured out what I was doing wrong.
This'll probaply sound very stupid to you advanced users out there but don't laugh too hard pleae: I didn't save
DavkeG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2003, 10:36 AM   #10
marjorie_g
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Default Re: N00b needs Help on POVRAY

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavkeG
hey i just found out how to change the background color:
at the bottom add:

}
background { color rgb <0.2, 0.2, 0.3> }

not really sure what the numbers do though, 'cause i always seem to be getting a white bkgr whatever number i fill in...

Hi, an intermediate user here. Numbers in color statement mean the amount of rgb (red, green and blue) that compose the color. POV has a way to ease this.
Use colors.inc and textures.inc as basic include headers. You can open colors.inc in the editor and take a look. Many colors are "declared" there, so you can use for example

background {Black} or pigment { Red} which is more intuitive and easy to work with.

Hope this helps

Marjorie Graterol
marjorie_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:46 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020