Go Back   AC3D Forums > Technical > AC3D Developers
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22nd February 2008, 10:54 AM   #1
Keith Sweeting
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Talking Exporting DirectX files for "Rule the Rail"

I purchased AC3D primarily to make and add models to a piece of software called "Rule the Rail" (I know its boring), in UK it is called "Create your own model railway"

The "Rule the rail" forum suggests that all you need to do is export in DirectX file.

I have compared two DirectX files one from the software (RTR X file) and a similar exported version of a similar size model from AC3D in Notepad and they look totally different. It would seem that the data is in groupings that don't bear any resemblance to the RTR file. I have tried various settings in the DirectX export screen, but to no avail.

Are there any folks out there that can tell me where I am going wrong. Maybe the settings can be changed, so that the "Rule the Rail software can accept my model?
At the moment I have checked the following: "Frames only for groups", Right handed coordinate systems, "invert face orientation" and Flip normals. But in Notepad my exported DirectX file looks nothing like the one from "Rule the rail".
Any guidance will be gratefully received.: If anybody wants to compare these two files please email me and I will send them.
Keith Sweeting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2008, 04:34 PM   #2
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Exporting DirectX files for "Rule the Rail"

Does the "Rule the Rail" manual have any instructions for what kind of DirectX file it expects? There are several different flavors, as you've clearly discovered.

I'm happy to take a look, but I don't know if I'll be of much help as I don't know anything about the game you mentioned.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2008, 08:05 AM   #3
Keith Sweeting
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Exporting DirectX files for "Rule the Rail"

Dear Lisa I attached a DirectX file copy from "Rule the Rail". If you don't recive it perhaps I could email it.
Please have a look and tell me if there is anything you can do.
Very Best Regards
Keith Sweeting
Keith Sweeting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2008, 12:23 PM   #4
petero1
Junior Member
Junior member
 
petero1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: Exporting DirectX files for "Rule the Rail"

Hay Lisa and Keith,
IŽd hear Keith wants to add new models to RTR.
First you select all needed parts of the model and select export as DrectX model .x...
Be sure you save it as ASCII text.
With the notepad you may open the file you generated with your AC3D and search for Texturefilename.
You may change the slashes in the path like so: (EXAMPLE)
old is it so: "C:/program files/brainbombers/Rule The Rails!/scenes/trains/innercity.dds"
new exactly so: "C:\\program files\\brainbombers\\Rule The Rails!\\scenes\\trains\\innercity.dds".
The slashes are the crashbringer for RTR.
If you want to know how more about RTR then you may visit The Little Ville fanpage of RTR
I hope this post helps you make models for RTR.
Peter
petero1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020