Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23rd December 2010, 03:39 AM   #1
JeremyC
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Default Worthless at making UV maps

How in the hell do you get the damn UV map function to work? I've been trying for the better part of 2 weeks now to produce a usable UV map that I can export as a .tga file. Absolutely nothing works, I've got a file folder full of crap .tga, none of which are usable. At this point I'm so pissed about ready to delete program off my hard drive and demand my money back.

I can't preview the UV output, I just have to friggin guess as to what the hell I'm making.

There no way to show changes in the TCE in the main windows, so I have no idea if the vertex I'm adjusting is the correct one, that's a guessing game that's getting old fast.


What a joke, I bought this program because it looked easy to use, but all I've gotten is hours of frustration
JeremyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 05:15 PM   #2
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default Re: Worthless at making UV maps

First the bad news: if you can't get a good map from this program, good luck doing better with another. Mapping in other programs is even HARDER.

Now the good news: AC3D is as easy as it gets. The Texture Coordinate Editor is one of the best features of the program, and even the programs that cost thousands of dollars per license can't do this as easily as AC3D does it.

What kinds of objects are you trying to texture, first of all? Once we can ascertain what you're trying to do, perhaps we can get you moving in the right direction....

One thing I see in your initial post is that you're not seeing changes in your model's texturing when you're also working with the TCE. That definitely should NOT be the case. So, I'm kind of wondering at the method you're using.

Have hope, it's not nearly as bad as it seems....
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals

Last edited by Stiglr; 24th December 2010 at 05:23 PM.
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:34 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020