Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D Suggestions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12th August 2005, 10:13 AM   #1
whirlwind
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 21
Default "New" 3D View Controls Not So

My only main grip with AC3D 5.0 (skipped 4.0) is the default controls of the 3D view window just became a pain to use. I miss the left mouse button drag to rotate the camera in the 3D view window.

I know the current method is more consistent with the other windows, but I'd rather have the old style AC3D 3D view with a toggleable select mode as opposed to the current toggleable rotate. I do more rotates than selects. Perhaps just using the alt key to select in 3D view would be a much better way to go.

As an old school AC3D user, it is exceptionally hard to get used to the new 3D view controls and there isn't a way to change the behavior via settings. Perhaps make the old/new methods toggleable via settings? That would be my best guess to keep the old users and new users from having to relearn how to use AC3D's 3D view.
whirlwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2005, 02:04 PM   #2
Thaellin
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 255
Default

I believe you get this if you hold down "ALT"
-- Jeff
Thaellin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2005, 08:47 AM   #3
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,366
Default

I understand the problem. It does take some getting used to, but I promise - it's worth it in the end. Te real improvement is that the view controls are now consistent, whatever way you choose to have your views configured.

You may like to try setting Navselect (on the view's 3D menu) this will do a rotate if you drag outside a selection.

As Jeff said, you hold down alt then use the mouse to roate/control the view as you did before.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2005, 03:45 PM   #4
whirlwind
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 21
Default

Honestly, I couldn't tell people how to use AC3D as I just sit down and use it naturally. Hence why I can't really get into many other 3D programs lol. I am just so used to draging in the view to rotate that it disrupts my work to have to stop and actually think about how I have to use AC3D. I don't know, I guess it is just such a habit. So you are saying it is like a metrics thing - once I start using it it will be great?
whirlwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2005, 12:29 PM   #5
alainmeyer1
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 19
Default Re: "New" 3D View Controls Not So

Quote:
Originally Posted by whirlwind
My only main grip with AC3D 5.0 (skipped 4.0) is the default controls of the 3D view window just became a pain to use. I miss the left mouse button drag to rotate the camera in the 3D view window.

I know the current method is more consistent with the other windows, but I'd rather have the old style AC3D 3D view with a toggleable select mode as opposed to the current toggleable rotate. I do more rotates than selects. Perhaps just using the alt key to select in 3D view would be a much better way to go.

As an old school AC3D user, it is exceptionally hard to get used to the new 3D view controls and there isn't a way to change the behavior via settings. Perhaps make the old/new methods toggleable via settings? That would be my best guess to keep the old users and new users from having to relearn how to use AC3D's 3D view.
Ya i agree!
__________________
Viva La Revolucion!
alainmeyer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020