Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28th October 2007, 03:15 PM   #1
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,366
Default AC3D under Mac OS X Leopard

It appears that there is a problem with file dialogs when running the current Mac AC3D under the new Leopard system.

Rest assured - we are working on a fix and will announce it when ready.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2007, 04:30 PM   #2
bstratmann
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: AC3D under Mac OS X Leopard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
It appears that there is a problem with file dialogs when running the current Mac AC3D under the new Leopard system.

Rest assured - we are working on a fix and will announce it when ready.
Andy,
thanks for your attention to this problem, it throws me back in my X-Plane project (new 3D model for my Boeing 737 aircraft).
Good luck with the fix!
All the best,
Benedikt
bstratmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2007, 06:48 AM   #3
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,366
Default Re: AC3D under Mac OS X Leopard

Here's a workaround.

Please test this and let us know (here) if it fixes the crashes. Our investigations show that the crash happens deep inside Leopard and it's -probably- a problem due to Apple changes (Apple rewrote the the whole dialog system for Leopard). Other programmers have confirmed the bug so it's not just AC3D with this problem. The bug has been reported to Apple and we will continue to work on getting it working properly.


Anyway, here is a script which replaces the system dialogs for Open/Save etc with less pretty versions (but they won't crash). Download the script and put it in the scripts folder e.g. ac3dmac/scripts.

Please post your findings here.

Andy
Attached Files
File Type: tcl replaceLeopardDialogs.tcl (838 Bytes, 775 views)
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2007, 09:06 AM   #4
bstratmann
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: AC3D under Mac OS X Leopard

Hi Andy!
Thanks thousand times for these scripts. Indeed there are no more crashes now, opening, saving and exporting files works - and no need to say that you saved my life! It's really good to see that we get a workaround within 5 days.
Hopefully the changes under the hood of Leopard won't cause too much trouble in the future!
Thanks again,
Benedikt
bstratmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2007, 01:33 PM   #5
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 207
Default Re: AC3D under Mac OS X Leopard

I have to chime in with Benedikt - it works nicely, thanks Andy.

cheers
Peter
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2007, 11:21 AM   #6
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,366
Default Re: AC3D under Mac OS X Leopard

One user reported a problem with AC3D under Leoipard which we cannot duplicate on our machine. It's a crash when browsing to the main Help menu.

Here's a fix:

1) Edit ac3dmac/tcl/ac3d.tcl with a text editor
2) find the line which is:

Code:
$m add cascade -menu .mbar.help.menu -label "Help" -underline 0
3) insert a space after Help i.e.

Code:
$m add cascade -menu .mbar.help.menu -label "Help " -underline 0
This will remove the new Leopard search entry from the AC3D menu and prevent the crash.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2007, 11:48 AM   #7
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 207
Default Re: AC3D under Mac OS X Leopard

Interestingly AC3D6205 doesn't crash on my Santa Rosa MBP when I use the main help menu per se. The default items work as expected. Only the Leopard 'Help' item does not allow entering any text. If I try nothing happens at all.
I do have Ben's X-Plane tools menu to the right of AC3D's Help however.
No idea if this is significant.

cheers
Peter
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2007, 04:07 PM   #8
blackbird
Junior Member
Advanced member
 
blackbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: AC3D under Mac OS X Leopard

Has anyone had the problem of not being able to open AC3D?
blackbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2007, 05:38 PM   #9
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 207
Default Re: AC3D under Mac OS X Leopard

Have you tried downloading a new copy of the application?
Do you get any output in Console (Applications/Utilities/Console.app) when you try to launch AC3D?
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2007, 09:27 PM   #10
blackbird
Junior Member
Advanced member
 
blackbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: AC3D under Mac OS X Leopard

In console:

11/16/07 8:24:41 PM com.apple.launchd[177] ([0x0-0x73073].com.inivis.ac3d[963]) Exited abnormally: Bus error
blackbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020