Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1st August 2008, 06:08 PM   #1
rockfists
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 15
Default Open sculptie (tga) in ac3d?

I was curious if there was a way to open my tga format into ac3d after I have saved it. I'd like to load older files I made using another program(Rokoru PRO), but only have the tga format. Rokoru PRO can load all the tga's I have, but thats it. It can't edit nearly as well as ac3d though

Last edited by rockfists; 6th August 2008 at 01:06 PM.
rockfists is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2008, 02:35 AM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,366
Default Re: Open sculptie (tga) in ac3d?

Targa files can be used as textures or background images. But if you want to preview your sculptie you will need to load it into SL (or another program).
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2008, 07:08 PM   #3
Severa
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 41
Default Re: Open sculptie (tga) in ac3d?

To preview it, try sculptyspace http://sculptyspace.com/index.php?id=2
Severa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2008, 12:01 PM   #4
rockfists
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: Open sculptie (tga) in ac3d?

Will that function ever be added to ac3d? Would be great to have a feature where we could reload our tga files back in ac3d or from other places (rokoru).

Last edited by rockfists; 6th August 2008 at 10:19 PM.
rockfists is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2008, 08:16 PM   #5
Severa
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 41
Default Re: Open sculptie (tga) in ac3d?

I'm not sure about that other program (rokoru) you mentioned but sculptyspace shows exactly how it will look in SL. Blender will show the LODS but I found with ac3d, that it holds well to all 3 LODS.
Severa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2008, 07:40 PM   #6
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Open sculptie (tga) in ac3d?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockfists View Post
Will that function ever be added to ac3d? Would be great to have a feature where we could reload our tga files back in ac3d or from other places (rokoru).
Feature request noted.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2008, 01:55 AM   #7
rockfists
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: Open sculptie (tga) in ac3d?

I am so glad lisa saw this post. There is hope!
rockfists is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2008, 04:15 AM   #8
Kireyo
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 53
Default Re: Open sculptie (tga) in ac3d?

I support this request, it would be great to be able to start out in Rokuro, for example, and continue modeling in Ac3d.
Kireyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th August 2008, 01:47 PM   #9
proximulator
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Open sculptie (tga) in ac3d?

Yeah, totally agree with you guys here - some reverse engineering from tga back to 3d model would be very great to have
proximulator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2008, 07:38 PM   #10
virtualalias
Member
Expert member
 
virtualalias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 67
Default Re: Open sculptie (tga) in ac3d?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Severa View Post
I'm not sure about that other program (rokoru) you mentioned but sculptyspace shows exactly how it will look in SL. Blender will show the LODS but I found with ac3d, that it holds well to all 3 LODS.
I have downloaded SculptySpace and like it a great deal. It's just like working with your sculpty in SecondLife, but without the charge. The only bummer is that it can only load 1 sculpty at a time, so for more complex creations, it still requires some guess-work or uploading into SL.
virtualalias is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:48 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020