Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D Suggestions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th July 2012, 10:09 AM   #11
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,366
Default Re: GUI Modification - pivots

Aha - try this one.
Attached Files
File Type: tcl setpivot2.tcl (2.7 KB, 146 views)
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2012, 10:23 AM   #12
Mossie
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Mossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 369
Default Re: GUI Modification - pivots

Nope does not get the selected vertice(s) but does get the current object center.

Can it get the current selected XYZ values in the Move set?
__________________
Regards, Gerry "Mossie" Mos
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
WW1 Aircraft Library
http://ww1-aircraft.info/

Mossie 3D CAD, "Prompt and Precise"
http://mossie3dcad.com/
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2012, 08:46 AM   #13
Mossie
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Mossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 369
Default Re: GUI Modification - pivots

Andy, do you understand the requirement?

It is not select object, but select active item, be it vertice(s) or object.
__________________
Regards, Gerry "Mossie" Mos
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
WW1 Aircraft Library
http://ww1-aircraft.info/

Mossie 3D CAD, "Prompt and Precise"
http://mossie3dcad.com/
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2012, 11:35 AM   #14
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,366
Default Re: GUI Modification - pivots

yes, I get it but I haven't had a chance to look at it today.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2012, 11:47 AM   #15
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default Re: GUI Modification - pivots

I think this is what Gerry's after:

__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals

Last edited by Stiglr; 10th July 2012 at 02:58 PM.
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2012, 12:24 PM   #16
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,366
Default Re: GUI Modification - pivots

OK- it's not as neat as you show, but try this and see if it works
Attached Files
File Type: tcl setpivot2.tcl (3.4 KB, 178 views)
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2012, 12:46 PM   #17
Mossie
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Mossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 369
Default Re: GUI Modification - pivots

Absolutely first class, thank you.
__________________
Regards, Gerry "Mossie" Mos
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
WW1 Aircraft Library
http://ww1-aircraft.info/

Mossie 3D CAD, "Prompt and Precise"
http://mossie3dcad.com/
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2012, 08:02 PM   #18
donamy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 219
Default Re: GUI Modification - pivots

Could I get more specifics for how this works and what to use it for?
donamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2012, 09:32 PM   #19
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default Re: GUI Modification - pivots

Quick example for you: you're outfitting an aircraft for a flight sim.

You need to define the "ray" that describes the hinge point for ailerons, rudders and elevators, as well as flaps... and you need to animate the stick, rudder pedals and all the moving dials and switches in the cockpit. And, more complex, you might have a fairly complicated animation for how the landing gear goes up into the wings/fuselage, and the little bay doors that go with it.

These features allow you to set up the meshes, program in the ranges of motion and to preview the animations, while you're still in AC3D; so you can be more confident that the affected bits will animate properly once the aircraft is imported into a game or simulation engine.
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2012, 11:09 PM   #20
donamy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 219
Default Re: GUI Modification - pivots

That is something I can really use. How is it done ?
donamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:44 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020