Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Scripts and Mods
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12th June 2005, 08:06 PM   #1
Dennis
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 899
Default SCRIPT: Move toward

The Move Toward plugin is available at:

http://supercoldmilk.com/ac3dplug/movetoward.html

Move Toward is an AC3D script that allows you to move a selection (composed of one or more objects, surfaces or vertices) toward a user defined point.

See all my plugins at http://supercoldmilk.com/ac3dplug/index.html

Last edited by Dennis; 17th July 2006 at 06:35 AM.
Dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2005, 01:53 PM   #2
Dennis
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 899
Default

Thanks to fellow AC3D user Eldon Brown, who has modified the Move Toward plugin to support a "Move Away" and "To" function.

Dennis
Dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2007, 12:37 PM   #3
luuckyy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
luuckyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: France
Posts: 735
Default Re: SCRIPT: Move toward

Hi Dennis/Eldon,
I consider that little script beeing kind of magic really, it's a great one.
I only have one "problem" with it, but it's maybe due to scripting limitations, I'm not sure :

if I move TO or TOWARD 100% (it has the same effect), then want to move again but AWAY this time, it doesn't move anymore, it's cruel .
Especially when you're moving vertice(s) TO vertice(s), because I can't hardly see how to select one of two "snapped" vertices ...

Is that normal ? Do you think it could be "fixed" ?
__________________
OL.
luuckyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2007, 08:22 PM   #4
Dennis
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 899
Default Re: SCRIPT: Move toward

Quote:
Originally Posted by luuckyy View Post
if I move TO or TOWARD 100% (it has the same effect), then want to move again but AWAY this time, it doesn't move anymore, it's cruel .
This is normal behavior.

Once you move "to", the vertex is moved to the "ref point". When you then try to move "away", and the vertex is already at the ref point, it doesn't really know which way to move (the script doesn't remember the previous location of the selection).

Think of it as drawing a line from the "ref point" through a vertex you want to move. For example, if the ref point is 0,0,0, and the vertex we've selected is at 1,0,0, then our line would start at 0,0,0 and point along the positive X axis to 1,0,0. All "toward" or "away" operations on that vertex would slide it along this imaginary line. "Toward" would move it along the negative X axis, and "away" would move it along the positive axis.

However, if both the ref point and the vertex are at, say, 1,0,0, then "toward" and "away" become meaningless --- our imaginary line from the ref point through the vertex is a zero-length line with no direction, as the line starts at 1,0,0 and ends at 1,0,0.

Hope that makes sense.

Quote:
Originally Posted by luuckyy View Post
Especially when you're moving vertice(s) TO vertice(s), because I can't hardly see how to select one of two "snapped" vertices ...
If the vertices are in the same object, then you're right - it becomes difficult to know which vertex you're selecting. At this point you simply have to single click the 2 vertices and only one will be selected --- which one is selected, of course, is anybody's guess...
Dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2007, 08:42 PM   #5
luuckyy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
luuckyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: France
Posts: 735
Default Re: SCRIPT: Move toward

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis View Post
Once you move "to", the vertex is moved to the "ref point". When you then try to move "away", and the vertex is already at the ref point, it doesn't really know which way to move (the script doesn't remember the previous location of the selection).
Oh yes indeed ... I didn't think of that.

Your answer completely makes sense Dennis.

And I've found a work-around for that by using the move TOWARD in combination with the native AC3D's "move to" panel.

Thank you very much for the reply !
__________________
OL.
luuckyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2009, 04:12 PM   #6
Sharpy
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lahaina Maui HI
Posts: 36
Default Re: SCRIPT: Move toward

Dennis/Eldon.
This is a perfect script for my work.
This allows me to build planked decks in half the time, and as clean as can be.

This used to take so much work, and always ended up somewhat of an imprecise mess.
THANKS!
Sharpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2017, 05:30 PM   #7
captainpeter
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vienna / Austria
Posts: 207
Default Re: SCRIPT: Move toward

I've been using this script a lot but since AC3D 8 it would not work anymore.

I have made some modifications and it appears to work again.

Caveat: I am not a programmer. I made this by looking at the changes Andy made to VGuide.tcl by Thierry Videlaine.

cheers
peter
Attached Files
File Type: tcl movetoward.tcl (6.1 KB, 38 views)
__________________
--
P e t e r M e i n i n g e r
------------------------------------

The X-Plane Freeware Project
captainpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:14 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020