Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D Work In Progress / Showcase
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30th March 2022, 10:24 AM   #1
Tonyn
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Default Swanage Signal Box

A model of the 'new' signal box at Swanage on the heritage railway in Dorset (UK)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SwanageBox.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	56.9 KB
ID:	3851  

Tonyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2022, 01:13 PM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,451
Default Re: Swanage Signal Box

That's lovely Tony. Really nice texturing too!


Are you using this in a simulation?
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2022, 03:10 PM   #3
Tonyn
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Default Re: Swanage Signal Box

Hi Andy
Yes I'm using the box in Trainz Railway Simulator v19 & 22, I use blender to do the conversion but all modelling is done in AC3D.
Tonyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2022, 06:14 AM   #4
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,451
Default Re: Swanage Signal Box

That's great. I'd love to see a pic of the box in situ...
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2022, 07:37 AM   #5
Tonyn
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Default Re: Swanage Signal Box

Andy
I'll take a screenshot later today

Tony
Tonyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2022, 08:27 AM   #6
Tonyn
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Default Re: Swanage Signal Box - screenshots

Hi Again

Large screenshots attached.The whole scene is not all my own work, I only did the signal box, another modeller has created the whole 5 mile length of the line.

The model was built in AC3D, imported into Blender using the import/export plugin then exported to FBX for import to trainz. The only downsides are the need to swap Y/Z axis and also some reason Blender exports to Trainz seem to have washed out colours.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Swanage 1.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	120.5 KB
ID:	3852  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Swanage 2.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	121.8 KB
ID:	3853  

Tonyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2022, 08:40 AM   #7
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,451
Default Re: Swanage Signal Box

That's amazing!
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2022, 12:00 PM   #8
luuckyy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
luuckyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: France
Posts: 737
Default Re: Swanage Signal Box

That's really nice indeed.
I'm curious about the textures in this kind of simulation.
Does your model have a single texture and if yes what size ?
__________________
OL.
luuckyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2022, 09:05 AM   #9
Tonyn
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Default Re: Swanage Signal Box

Hi Luuckyy
The whole scene is obviously made up of many models, for my part it's just the signal box.
The texture is a simple flat image (1024x1024) which I suppose could actually be that size. I've attached a link for you, the use of sorface area is pretty poor and I should have spent a bit more time rationalising the UV map as it now looks a bit sloppy.

https://tinyurl.com/nhcxbtda

Tony
Tonyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2022, 11:59 AM   #10
luuckyy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
luuckyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: France
Posts: 737
Default Re: Swanage Signal Box

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonyn View Post
Hi Luuckyy
The whole scene is obviously made up of many models, for my part it's just the signal box.
The texture is a simple flat image (1024x1024) which I suppose could actually be that size. I've attached a link for you, the use of sorface area is pretty poor and I should have spent a bit more time rationalising the UV map as it now looks a bit sloppy.

https://tinyurl.com/nhcxbtda

Tony
Thanks for the informations
__________________
OL.
luuckyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020