Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20th June 2006, 11:37 AM   #11
captainj2410
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainj2410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Captain's Quarters, Deck 1 USS Avenger NX-101468
Posts: 792
Default Re: How can i scoop a groove out of a cylinder

This might make more sense:

http://www.ac3d.org/forum/showthread...newpost&t=3533
captainj2410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2006, 01:00 PM   #12
Titus
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SC
Posts: 65
Default Re: How can i scoop a groove out of a cylinder

tks a bunch
Titus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2006, 03:41 PM   #13
Terry Capps
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Corsicana, Texas
Posts: 132
Default Re: How can i scoop a groove out of a cylinder

Is this what you had in mind?
Attached Images
 
Terry Capps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2006, 12:23 PM   #14
captainj2410
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainj2410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Captain's Quarters, Deck 1 USS Avenger NX-101468
Posts: 792
Default Re: How can i scoop a groove out of a cylinder

Cyllinder - Toroid boolean I take it?
captainj2410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2006, 12:34 PM   #15
Terry Capps
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Corsicana, Texas
Posts: 132
Default Re: How can i scoop a groove out of a cylinder

Yes, It's a toroid-boolean operation.

Sorry, if you guys have already dismissed this idea; I wasn't sure.
Terry Capps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2006, 12:50 PM   #16
captainj2410
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainj2410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Captain's Quarters, Deck 1 USS Avenger NX-101468
Posts: 792
Default Re: How can i scoop a groove out of a cylinder

I wonder if they'll ever come up with a boolean without leaving all the ugly makeshift surfaces they put in there. Five to ten overlapping surfaces, triangulations that don't make sense, it gets really frustrating.
captainj2410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2006, 01:31 PM   #17
nightoftheroundtable
Senior Member
Professional user
 
nightoftheroundtable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: elma washington
Posts: 805
Default Re: How can i scoop a groove out of a cylinder

I was wondering about this teriod boolean operation. because I have got some models that I want to use this feature on.
nightoftheroundtable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2006, 01:34 PM   #18
captainj2410
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainj2410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Captain's Quarters, Deck 1 USS Avenger NX-101468
Posts: 792
Default Re: How can i scoop a groove out of a cylinder

a toroid is an elipse rotated 360 degrees around an axis so it becomes like a bicycle tire. It was used as operand B in the boolean operation while the cylinder was operand A
captainj2410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2006, 01:52 PM   #19
Dennis
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 899
Default Re: How can i scoop a groove out of a cylinder

If you're doing this from scratch (i.e., you're not trying to modify an existing cylinder), I'd recommend using the Revolve tool (i.e., make the profile of the cylinder with the scoop out and revolve it).

Here's a tutorial I made for a tin can than may provide some insight into what I mean: http://supercoldmilk.com/ac3dtut/beginner/can.html . Instead of making the ridges, just make your cylinder with a "c" shaped scoop for a profile. Let me know if that doesn't makes sense.
Dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2006, 01:57 PM   #20
captainj2410
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainj2410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Captain's Quarters, Deck 1 USS Avenger NX-101468
Posts: 792
Default Re: How can i scoop a groove out of a cylinder

I'm not even going to try to figure out why I didn't just think of that...
captainj2410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:58 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020