Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D Suggestions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 7th June 2009, 07:50 PM   #1
sierracharlie
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Default Bones and joints

The title says it all....
sierracharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2009, 03:08 PM   #2
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Bones and joints

For animation, or for export to a game?

There's no animation with AC3D itself.

For exporting AC3D models to games or to animation programs, a number of the exporters will use the heirarchy view (F8) and object centres as basic bones and joints.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2009, 09:33 PM   #3
sierracharlie
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Bones and joints

Not for animations. I am using joints for programmatically setting camera mount positions, joining models together, docking positions, etc.
sierracharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2009, 09:58 PM   #4
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Bones and joints

Are you writing your own plugins?

To get the pivots (joint centers), you'll want:
ac_object_get_centre(pObject)

To get the hierarchy, which you can use to join things together and make your own skeleton:
ac_object_get_childrenlist(pObject)
ac_object_get_num_children(pObject)

My own plugins work that way, I set the joint center using the object center, and then determine the bones by locating the parent object and building the skeleton that way. I believe X-Plane and some of the others do something similar.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 09:32 AM   #5
Mossie
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Mossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 369
Default Re: Bones and joints

So how difficult would it be to make a plugin covering basic animation?

Also could the animation be included in the Collada export?

It is an ask, but you don't ask you don't get.
__________________
Regards, Gerry "Mossie" Mos
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
WW1 Aircraft Library
http://ww1-aircraft.info/

Mossie 3D CAD, "Prompt and Precise"
http://mossie3dcad.com/
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 02:58 PM   #6
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Bones and joints

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossie View Post
It is an ask, but you don't ask you don't get.


General animation\joint setup, not too hard at all. The poser exporter and milkshape skeleton exporter both already do exactly this.

Collada, I don't know. I've been actually wanting to write one myself, but haven't found a good manual or simple sample file yet. I'm sure its' out there, just don't have a link for it. I found a couple of different XSDs, but the XSD is a bit vague on some of the points. Some kind of "here's a list of all the possible nodes and their meanings" would be especially helpful.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 03:36 PM   #7
Mossie
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Mossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 369
Default Re: Bones and joints

Yes, I seen the spec for the file here: http://www.khronos.org/files/collada_spec_1_4.pdf

But a quick look around the web didn't pop up any example files, except from http://www.collada.org/owl/, you can log in without signing on. There are some files here, but not sure how usefull.
__________________
Regards, Gerry "Mossie" Mos
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
WW1 Aircraft Library
http://ww1-aircraft.info/

Mossie 3D CAD, "Prompt and Precise"
http://mossie3dcad.com/
Mossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2009, 12:42 PM   #8
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Bones and joints

Booya! Exactly what I've been looking for, thanks! Looks like I have some reading to do.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 07:22 PM   #9
sierracharlie
Junior Member
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Bones and joints

Hi Lisa,

I create the joints programatically in the game engine I am using (Panda3d) based on a configuration string for the model. I would prefer to create some of the joints statically in AC3D.
sierracharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:10 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020