Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D Suggestions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17th February 2020, 11:43 AM   #1
Tomkat
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 45
Default Boolean SUBTRACT messy.

The object I'm using to boolean subtract the wall is just a cube...
Does anyone know why "subtract" creates so many extra vertices and polygons?
I have to clean them all up, which is very tedious.
Is there a setting/preference or something else that I'm missing?


Last edited by Tomkat; 17th February 2020 at 05:04 PM.
Tomkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2020, 06:01 AM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,382
Default Re: Boolean SUBTRACT messy.

The code does its best at cleaning it up with the current algorithm.


I know it's not ideal but a simple way to make the shape you want would be to select the front surface (seen here textured), perform a Surface->indent (any size), move/resize the new 'indented' surface, then extrude it outwards.


To clean up a boolean mess, you can select some adjacent surfaces and press 'c' to combine them.

Last edited by Andy; 19th February 2020 at 12:31 PM. Reason: typo
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2020, 02:12 PM   #3
Tomkat
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 45
Default Re: Boolean SUBTRACT messy.

Damn, I wish I had known that's what the "indent" function did!
It could have saved me a LOT of time!
Well, I'm glad to know about it now.
Tomkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:05 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020