Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30th September 2012, 09:56 PM   #1
jayd
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 50
Default rotating a background image

I know you can move a background image up and down but can the background image be rotated?
jayd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2012, 10:38 PM   #2
donamy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 219
Default Re: rotating a background image

The answer is no. Why would you need it to?
donamy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2012, 01:20 PM   #3
jayd
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 50
Default Re: rotating a background image

Thank you very much for your kind response. :-)
jayd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2012, 02:41 PM   #4
foxa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Greensboro NC, USA
Posts: 337
Default Re: rotating a background image

Actually, if the image needs to be rotated, you could open it in an editor like Irfanview and rotate it and re save it. Then you can load it back into AC3D.
foxa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2012, 10:49 PM   #5
jayd
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 50
Default Re: rotating a background image

Foxa, thank you so very much--that is a good suggestion. sometimes the reference photos that clients give me to work with are often a bit skewed and so it makes perfect sense to have the ability to rotate. I can see if one is just working on simple things that it might not be an issue. I will stick it in photoshop or artrage, play with it there and then reload it into the program.

Im trying to use ac3d as much as possible as i really like the intereface.
jayd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2012, 10:58 AM   #6
foxa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Greensboro NC, USA
Posts: 337
Default Re: rotating a background image

Glad to help, I have all the Adobe products too, but Irfanview is so quick and small I still use it for resizing, rotation etc. Same thing with AC3D, I have several 3D packages available, but I always run home to mama .
foxa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2012, 09:19 PM   #7
jayd
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 50
Default Re: rotating a background image

I'm the same way--I know i should be worshipping the almighty Blender and i love the program ; Blender is fabulous but AC3D is easier to navigate--simple and straightforward. Truth be told, I get more done using AC3D then I do with Blender.
jayd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2012, 11:17 AM   #8
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default Re: rotating a background image

That's no surprise. Blender is so poor with user-friendliness, it almost outstrips its great feature set. You can lose a half an hour lost in submenus looking for a feature... whereas with AC3D, it's quick and efficient and intuitive. Only thing is, it doesn't do even half the things Blender can.
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2012, 10:13 AM   #9
jayd
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 50
Default Re: rotating a background image

have to totally agree with you there; I'm sitting here with my copy of Blender Foundations refreshing my somewhat dim memory set on some of the navigations. The best approach i have learned for blender is to just learn what you need, do that task and keep adding on as needed otherwise I would probably shelf it to collect more dust.

AC3D has a simplicity that i really like. I was pretty much able to figure out most things on my own---even though it does not do as much as blender, its certainly a mighty little giant when it comes to the things it can do.
jayd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:12 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020