Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D Suggestions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

View Poll Results: What do you think?
I write plug-ins, and this would be a great feature. 4 66.67%
I write plug-ins, but I wouldn't use this feature. 1 16.67%
What the heck is a breakpoint? 1 16.67%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12th October 2006, 04:22 PM   #1
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Feature Request for Plug-In Developers

There's a feature I'd really like to see that would help plug-in developers a lot, and my hope is that it would also be easy to implement.

Right now, it's very difficult to debug plug-ins with AC3D. You can't put a breakpoint in a plug-in--at least not under Windows, I haven't tried other OSes yet--because the exception handler in AC3D traps all exceptions, including user hardware breakpoints.

It would be *super cool* if there were a start-up flag for AC3D that would filter the exceptions and allow breakpoint exceptions to be processed. (asm int 3, SIGTRAP, etc.) This would make it much easier for people writing plug-ins, because it would allow things like ASSERT macros to break into the debugger while AC3D runs.

-Lisa
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2006, 05:10 AM   #2
Dennis
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 899
Default Re: Feature Request for Plug-In Developers

Agreed, this would be a great feature. I've learned to work around it, but for more complex plugins, and *especially* for Undo cleanup, it'd be nice if custom plugins could be interactively debugged...
Dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2006, 07:42 AM   #3
steve_hill
Member
Advanced member
 
steve_hill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 44
Default Re: Feature Request for Plug-In Developers

Having better facilities for debugging plug-ins would definitely be useful, but you have to be careful to prevent people from being able to hack the main application. In particular, the licencing code needs to be well protected.

Steve.
steve_hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2006, 07:04 PM   #4
lisa
Senior Member
Professional user
 
lisa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 917
Default Re: Feature Request for Plug-In Developers

Good point.
lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020