Go Back   AC3D Forums > Resources > AC3D Scripts and Mods
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17th February 2007, 05:57 AM   #1
thierry_st_malo
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint-Malo, France
Posts: 148
Smile New script: 3D guidelines

Hi, all!
I have just completed VGuide, my first script for AC3D. VGuide implements 3D guidelines, a useful measurement and alignment tool, in AC3D.
To see what it is all about and perhaps download the thing, please visit my site at http://www.tvi-sarl.com this is NOT a commercial site) and click on the "AC3D" link in the left frame.
Hope you'll find that useful,
Thierry
thierry_st_malo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2007, 06:31 AM   #2
luuckyy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
luuckyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: France
Posts: 735
Default Re: New script: 3D guidelines

For now, I find it useful to insert n vertices on an edge

Thank you very much !
__________________
OL.
luuckyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2007, 03:58 PM   #3
luuckyy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
luuckyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: France
Posts: 735
Default Re: New script: 3D guidelines

Hello Thierry,
I think I've found a little problem with your script.
I've just tried to insert 5 vertices on a cube's edge and ... it seems that your script "puts" 5 vertices on the edge and not "inserts" them properly.
In other words, the newly created vertices are created as a separated object, they are not part of the cube geometry.
Even merging cube + object doesn't help.

Is that the way it is supposed to work ?
__________________
OL.
luuckyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 03:09 AM   #4
thierry_st_malo
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint-Malo, France
Posts: 148
Default Re: New script: 3D guidelines

Yes, it is; what you can do with these vertices is create a line (which I could do in the script, if you wish). At the moment, given the set of ac3d Tcl/Tk commands that are available, I don't see what else I could do. If and when the "get_selected_surface" I suggested (see the "Suggestions" forum) is available I'll be able to solve your problem.
Thierry
thierry_st_malo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 03:32 PM   #5
luuckyy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
luuckyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: France
Posts: 735
Default Re: New script: 3D guidelines

Ok, thanks for the reply.
__________________
OL.
luuckyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2007, 01:03 PM   #6
thierry_st_malo
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint-Malo, France
Posts: 148
Red face Re: New script: 3D guidelines

Thinking about your problem, luuckyy;

I know it is a pain, but you could do the following:
- Delete one of the two cube facets that share the offending edge;
- Create an ordered surface using the new vertices (when you create an ordered surface, the only thing that matters is that the first three vertices are not aligned, so that AC3D can compute the surface's normal - the following ones may be aligned, who cares?)
- Do the same with the second cube facet that shares the offending edge.
- Merge again everything.
Sorry about that, but at the moment I can't suggest anything better.

Thierry

P.S: Being as curious as an old she-cat, may I ask why you need that kind of things?
thierry_st_malo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2007, 02:30 PM   #7
luuckyy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
luuckyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: France
Posts: 735
Default Re: New script: 3D guidelines

Thanks for your suggestion Thierry.
I will try and see.

I sometimes need to "insert any number of vertices at equal distance between the origin and the extremity" of an edge (I've taken that sentence from your webpage - how lazy can I be sometimes ).
AC3D's "insert vertice" native function is ok but if you keep inserting vertices along an edge, you have 1 then 3 then 7 ... vertices inserted - What if I only need 6 vertices at equal distance from each others and from the origin and the extremity ?

I was in need of that, for example, for my bus front grill.
And I've used a mesh and used it as a knife.
It's much more time consuming.
__________________
OL.
luuckyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2007, 02:47 PM   #8
Terry Capps
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Corsicana, Texas
Posts: 116
Talking Re: New script: 3D guidelines

I already downloaded your Vplane script which is great. The 3D guidelines script looks like it is going to be great as well. I will try to remember to post another reply after I have had a chance to play with it.
Terry Capps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2007, 02:10 AM   #9
thierry_st_malo
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint-Malo, France
Posts: 148
Smile Re: New script: 3D guidelines

I will be doing even more if and when my suggestion for an "ac3d get_selected_surface" is accepted or if the SDK becomes accessible from .NET languages.
Thanks for your comments, in any case.
Thierry
thierry_st_malo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2007, 08:12 AM   #10
Terry Capps
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Corsicana, Texas
Posts: 116
Default Re: New script: 3D guidelines

I have been creating a model of an existing device that I intend to modify and your 3D-Guidelines has been invaluable. I can determine the widths, thicknesses, etc of the actual device using a dial caliper and a micrometer, but, although ac3d will accept, and calculate, dimensions out to 4 places, it only shows the dimensions of things to two places. Your script-tool is great for showing the dimensions out to 4 places. I use that feature a lot. I have only used its ability to insert verticies a few times, but the degree of control that it offers is a real timesaver.

I think your script ought to be incorporated into the standard ac3d program. I can't imagine not having it now. Great stuff!
Terry Capps is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:02 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020