Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28th October 2020, 01:03 PM   #1
Striker
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Default Output of an angle

Hallo

I'm using AC3D since 2007.
For me a very good program to build my models of old houses etc.

But I've missed one little thing for a long time:

Show the angle in the info text.

Example:
I have a plane and I will extrude it. I select two vertices, then extruce egdes and then I can see the distance, but I should also see the angle.

Andi, is this possible?

Best
Gerhard
Striker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2020, 06:42 PM   #2
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,382
Default Re: Output of an angle

Hi Gerhard,


It's not possible. Angles would require at least three vertices/points. I'd be interested which angles you want to measure.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2020, 09:22 AM   #3
Striker
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Output of an angle

Hi Andi,

thank you for your answer.

First I have to say, that I'm an old guy from Bavaria and my English is very poor - please excuse that.

I think we keep it simple:

1) An angle should be only shown in 2D view, so we habe always two dimensions.
2) An angle should be only shown, if two vertices/points are selected, or when the points on the same position.
3) The third point - please have a look on the picture.



What do you think about it?

Best
Gerhard

Last edited by Striker; 29th October 2020 at 09:31 AM.
Striker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2020, 05:06 PM   #4
Andy
Administrator
Professional user
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,382
Default Re: Output of an angle

Well that's a great picture but it illustrates the problem that the program would have determining what you want. There are many angles associated with the triangle created from those three points. The top angle of your triangle would be 60 degrees, the angles between your line and the axis are 30 degrees and 150, or the angle between the line and the axis could be 330 degrees.


It's a difficult one. I'd love to help but I can't see a clear way to implement this.


P.S. your English is excellent Gerard.
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2020, 06:30 PM   #5
Striker
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Output of an angle

Yes Andi, you are absolutely right.

But i'm only talking about one object and one right triangle and the angle of interest is the angle "Alpha, so this is the angle that I have drawn.

Anything else would be too complex.

Best
Gerhard
Striker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2020, 01:22 PM   #6
Terry Capps
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Corsicana, Texas
Posts: 116
Default Re: Output of an angle

Have you checked out the Script, "New script: 3D guidelines"?

It allows you to input vertices and then it calculates distance and angles. It was originally created by "thierry_st_malo" and recently updated by Andy to run in Ac3d8.0 and above.
Terry Capps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2020, 02:17 PM   #7
Striker
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Output of an angle

No, I don't know this script, but I'll check it out.
Thank you very much for your hint

Best
Gerhard
Striker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:38 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020