Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D Suggestions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20th September 2006, 06:08 AM   #1
thierry_st_malo
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint-Malo, France
Posts: 148
Wink Parallel polylines

It would be very nice to have such a feature : given a 2D polyline or a polygon (all vertices in a poly being co-planar), create a new polyline at a given distance of and parallel to the original polyline or to the polygon's outline.
Cheers,
Thierry
thierry_st_malo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2006, 09:19 PM   #2
wind
Member
Advanced member
 
wind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 47
Default Re: Parallel polylines

i don't quite understand you that much, but I believe you can solve this by copying and pasting the planes, than holding ctr while moving it, this will make you drag it in a straight line
__________________
what happens to a lost dream?
wind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2006, 10:06 PM   #3
mconn1
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 55
Default Re: Parallel polylines

Try this...

Draw your polyline or polygon.

Press the Dup (duplicate) button at the top of the main window.

Enter 2 in the X entry box under the Move heading on the left control area. (That should get you pretty close to a 1 block shift of the object you duplicated.)
mconn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2006, 12:57 PM   #4
thierry_st_malo
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint-Malo, France
Posts: 148
Default Re: Parallel polylines

Certainly, but what I need is a homotethia (by the way, is this the correct word in English?) as in AutoCAD LT or in TurboCAD, for instance.
Cheers,
Thierry
thierry_st_malo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2006, 03:12 PM   #5
luuckyy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
luuckyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: France
Posts: 735
Default Re: Parallel polylines

Quote:
Originally Posted by thierry_st_malo View Post
Certainly, but what I need is a homotethia (by the way, is this the correct word in English?) as in AutoCAD LT or in TurboCAD, for instance.
Cheers,
Thierry
"Homothety" is the correct english word.
I'm not sure but I think you're looking to be able to move a (duplicated) surface along its normal vector ... ?
__________________
OL.
luuckyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2006, 05:03 AM   #6
thierry_st_malo
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Saint-Malo, France
Posts: 148
Default Re: Parallel polylines

No, this I can do (I think). I am quite specific: what I am looking for is an homothety.
Cheers,
Thierry
thierry_st_malo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020