Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22nd November 2006, 01:12 PM   #1
Knowhow
Junior Member
Junior member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Question Animating

One Time I read, that AC3D can be use for games. But a game need animations. So how I can animate with AC3D???
Knowhow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2006, 02:18 PM   #2
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default Re: Animating

AC3D does not support animations. But that doesn't mean the game you're designing for doesn't have tools for creating it.

Case in point: I use AC3D to design aircraft models for a flight sim. But, I have to animate all the moving parts withing the game system, not within AC3D.

Would be nice, though...
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2006, 02:21 PM   #3
Dennis
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 899
Default Re: Animating

Animation is not one of the things you'll be able to implement using AC3D. It's not an end-to-end solution for game assets, but rather a great modeler for creating core game assets.

The AC3D object format is very easy for game developers to leverage, it's great for making maps, characters, and other objects, and the ability to tag objects with a custom data field is priceless for game developers.

It would be nice if AC3D supported animation, it just isn't there at this time.
Dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2006, 06:20 PM   #4
nightoftheroundtable
Senior Member
Professional user
 
nightoftheroundtable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: elma washington
Posts: 805
Default Re: Animating

correct me if I am wrong. if ac3d did support an animation feature. I am thinking that the price of the program would jump significantly from where its at right now.
__________________
"There are those who think one step in advanced. Then there are those who think about there moves at the last minute."
==========================================
"Its those people who think one step in advanced and stay ahead of the game who come out on top. those who fail to understand why they didn't make it probably didn't think in advanced."

add this to your signature if you are a thinker.

Quote from me Daniel Reed a.k.a "nightoftheroundtable"
nightoftheroundtable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2006, 07:57 PM   #5
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default Re: Animating

Naturally.

If the price were two, three or more times higher than what it is now, I'd expect some rudimentary animation. It's this feature, plus advanced rendering, that are main differences between AC3D and something like Maya, or 3DMax.
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2006, 05:54 PM   #6
AndyH
Member
Advanced member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 34
Default Re: Animating

I disagree. Ac3D is an excellent modeller for its price, and it replicates a lot of the simplicity and features of 3DS v2-4 that I like. However it could really do with being extended to support some form of animation - this is the next logical place to go. Adding animation features will not change what Ac3D is and who it is aimed at (ie: increasing the price to that of Max or maya will not work for obvious reasons) but I it would help to keep Ac3D moving in the right direction and offer bigger reasons to upgrade and draw in many new users.
__________________
ovine by design
Visit us for retro freeware games
AndyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2006, 07:22 PM   #7
Stiglr
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Stiglr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 604
Default Re: Animating

I couldn't imagine a better way to be shown to be in error than for AC3D to expand with animation features without a significant increase in price!

But, we do agree that it is an excellent modeling software for the money, with or without animation support.

Keeping my fingers crossed that we'll see something along that front in the next year or so!
__________________
Flight Sim Project Contributor

My Gaming Rig:
i5 2500K Quad-Core CPU at 3.3GHz
MSI P67A-C43 mobo
4GB of PC12800 DDR3 memory
Windows 7
1GB Galaxy GeForce GTX550 Ti video card GeForce 270.61 drivers (4/2011)
Cougar joystick/throttle combo
CH Pedals
Stiglr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:54 AM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020