Go Back   AC3D Forums > General > AC3D General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 5th July 2006, 11:25 AM   #1
Titus
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SC
Posts: 65
Question Cutting

I cant figure how to cut out a slit in an object. I have tried boolean but I cant get it to work. It is like this: Say you took a rectangle and wanted to take a chunk out of the side because something had to slide into it, how would you do it?
Titus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2006, 01:08 PM   #2
luuckyy
Senior Member
Professional user
 
luuckyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: France
Posts: 737
Default Re: Cutting

Maybe you could try to indent the side surface and then extrude (inside) the new created surface ?
__________________
OL.
luuckyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2006, 04:22 PM   #3
griff
Senior Member
Professional user
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 116
Default Re: Cutting

One simple example ... cutting a rectangular shape out

1. Make a mesh 3 by 2
2. Hilite a surface (or vertices that make up a surface) ... the middle one of a row of 3.
3. Surface-->cut away object. Delete that new object.
4. Extrude the mesh.

If you wanted to make an E shape make the mesh 5 by 2 and hilite and delete surfaces 2 and 4 in a row of 5

There are other ways ....that use the make hole function that will allow more complex chunks removed

griff
griff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2006, 12:34 AM   #4
captainj2410
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainj2410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Captain's Quarters, Deck 1 USS Avenger NX-101468
Posts: 792
Default Re: Cutting

does this look like it would resemble something you want?

i just subtracted a cube from a cyllinder in boolean
captainj2410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2006, 08:37 AM   #5
Titus
Member
Expert member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: SC
Posts: 65
Default Re: Cutting

Maybe I shouldnt start a thread because every time I start it I figure what I need to out be my lonesome
Thanks though
Titus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2006, 11:21 AM   #6
captainj2410
Senior Member
Professional user
 
captainj2410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Captain's Quarters, Deck 1 USS Avenger NX-101468
Posts: 792
Default Re: Cutting

Well, the more you know, the better off you'll be.

"And now you know, and knowing is half the battle because knowledge is power!"
captainj2410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:44 PM.


AC3D Forum
(C) Inivis Limited 2020